Tau FAQ 2.0
Tau Frequently Asked Questions. This is a guide for new players.
Q: Against a Markerlight shot, do models get an armour save? Cover save?
A: No. The Markerlight isn’t treated as a weapon in the sense that the model gets to take an armour save or make a check to wound as it has no S/AP.
The Markerlight hit also does not allow the opponent to take a cover save, as per the Games Workshop 4th Edition FAQ.
Q: How many Markerlight shots for a Pathfinder squad do I get?
A: You get the same amount of Markerlight shots as number of Pathfinders in your squad. Each Pathfinder is equipped with a Markerlight. For example, if you take five Pathfinders you
may fire five Markerlights.
Q: What gets the benefit of a Markerlight?
A: For each Markerlight hit, you designate a single model and a single weapon that model has. For example, if you only get a single Markerlight hit, you may designate a Crisis
Battlesuit (who is equipped with a Plasma Rifle and Missile Pod in this case) and then designate the Missile Pod. Both shots get the benefit of a 2+ to hit, but the Plasma Rifle does
not get this bonus. Seeker Missiles also count as a model/weapon, and so get the 2+ to hit.
Q: What about twin-linked weapons?
A: If a weapon is twin-linked and you miss with the first 2+ hit (from the Markerlight) then you may re-roll the to-hit dice for that weapon (all shots) with the 2+ bonus from the
Markerlight. Note that this only applies to one weapon, and the model’s second weapon still doesn’t get the bonus.
Q: The codex says I may give the grenades to a team of Fire Warriors for X points/model. Can I give the grenades to only a few models?
A: No. You must either give the grenades to all models in the squad for X points/model or you cannot take them.
Q: Where can I find the rules for the Pathfinder Rail Rifle?
A: You can find these rules published in Chapter Approved 2004. There is also a rumor that you can find them published on the Deutsch (German) Games Workshop website.
Q: The codex says I can nominate a squad of Fire Warriors as Aun’Shi’s retinue. Do they count as Troops, HQ, or both?
A: Aun’shi no matter what counts as an HQ choice. However, the Fire Warrior team nominated as his retinue only count as a Troops choice, not as an HQ or both.
Q: Do support systems count towards the maximum of three hard points allowed on my Battlesuits?
Q: What about weapons and twin-linked weapons?
A: Weapons count as a single hard point. A Twin-Linked weapon counts as a total of two hard points.
Q: What is a Hard Wired system?
A: This is a “special” system that doesn’t count towards your hard point limit. Check the Tau Armoury for available systems to hard wire, because some (such as Shield Generators) are
not able to be hard wired.
Q: How many Hard Wired systems can I take?
A: An HQ (Shas’O, Shas’el, or Ethereal) may take a total of three hard wired systems in addition to their three hard points (if Shas’O or ‘el). They don’t have to take these hard
wired systems and they are optional. Any other model allowed access to the armoury (by way of Team Leader/Shas’ui/Shas’vre upgrades when listed) are allowed to take a single hard
Q: If I give my HQ two shield/gun drones, do they still count as an Independent Character?
A: No, they are now a unit with their drones.
Q: What about Bodyguard?
A: No, they count as bodyguard and are therefore a unit. The codex states that the IC will lose his IC status if bodyguard are attached.
Q: If my drones/Bodyguard die in battle, does my HQ count as being under half strength?
A: Yes. Since they formed a unit, both drones and Bodyguard count when determining if under half strength.
Q: If drones/Bodyguard are wiped out, does my HQ have to make a Last Man Standing test?
A: No. As stated in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook, if the bodyguard then they revert back to an Independent Character.
Q: The codex entry says they are equipped with Pulse Carbines and Photon grenade launchers. Can I shoot these grenades? Do they count as photon grenades like Fire Warriors have?
A: No and no. The Photon grenade launcher is simply the fluff reason that Pathfinders’ weapons cause pinning. That is all it does.
Q: Say I caused three wounds with my Pulse Carbines. Does the enemy have to take three separate pinning tests?
A: No. The enemy only takes one pinning test as long as you have scored at least one wound with the Pulse Carbines, but no more.
Q: Can I use the Devilfish for the scout move special rule?
A: Yes. The Devilfish is considered part of the unit and if they are deployed inside of the Devilfish you may use it for your Pathfinders’ free scout move before the game begins.
Note: If anything is wrong in the above FAQ please PM/email me and let me know how you found out. Thanks!