Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
playing DA has been awesome since day 1( especially Death-Raven), but i just noticed some fine print in Belial and Sammael's profiles.
it says that bikes/terminators may be treated as troop choices as well as elites/fast.....
i looked up the definition of "as well as" (as well as definition | Dictionary.com) and it said that it means "in addition to"....
what does this mean? that means that though they may be counted as troops, they are still elites and fall subject to the force organization charts which say you can only have 3 fast and 3 elites......
this means that army lists including belial and sammael may only take 3 bikes/terminators....max.
i've seen many lists posted and many games played with list including more than 3 bike/terminator squads.....
i love this game, but i don't want to cheat. can anyone disprove this?
as well as means you could have 3 units of deathwing as elites, as well as 6 as troops, and the same with bikers, 3 units as fast attack, as well as 6 units as troops
it says it "may be treated as a troop choice as well as an Elites choice"
translation: "may be treated as a troop choice in addition to an Elites choice"
this means that it counts as both an elite and troop. so it technically takes up 2 slots on a force organization chart.
this is only for standard missions and GW tournement rules. i know that you can play however you want at home (subject to your friends' agreement ) but enjoy playing lots of people who aren't so forgiving of cheating.
A given unit takes up a single slot on the force organization chart. It doesn't matter if that slot is HQ, Elite, or Troops. If is both fast attack and troops then you can choose where to spend the slot, from either fast attack or from troops. A single unit never takes up more than one slot on the force organization chart.
Everything I have told you, even this, is a lie.
it means that some units may be taken as a single elites choice, and some may be taken as a single troops choice, giving you up to 9 units of either wing.
its not cheating, its following the rules as written very plainly in black and white
i know that models cannot take up two slots on the chart. but this rule is an exception and i'm just trying to figure out if that's really what it means.
is there anyone from GW who knows?
i just emailed customer service (which does rule clarification) and they will send me a reply within 3 days. i'll post it when i get it.
The fluff behind this rules exception is to allow you to field and entire army of the given type. I have personally seen a 40 model terminator army.
I am certain that this will be the same answer that you get from GW customer support.
so feel free to load up with 9 squads of bikes or terminators, and bring swift and sure death to all who oppose you.
Edit: oh and GW are known for their poorly worded rules
Last edited by kiwiboy12; November 28th, 2008 at 03:39.
"There is a fine line between genius and insanity"
(>'.' )> (^ '.' )> <( '.' )> <( '.' ^)<( '.'<)
I have sadly passed that line o.0?
tell me about it!
i love fielding large amounts of bikes! i just noticed that phrase because we're studying something like that in English 12.
thanks for the clarification guys! i'm sure GW will say something similar, but i'll still post it here when i get the email.
You guys were totally right!
this is the email that i recieved:
If you use those characters then the appropriate unit can be taken as troops and/or elites(or fast attack).
Customer Service Specialist"
yeah, i just got a bit confused with the wording.