Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm not sure if this is posted in the correct forum or not, but I'm a little confused about this phrase when I'm making an army list.
So let's say we have a Unit, well call it Big Dude.
Big Dude costs 20 pts and I have 150 Pts. left in my Army build. So I can definitely get 6 Big Dudes for 120 pts, no problem.
Under the Character upgrades section, it says One Big Dude may be a Mega Dude.
So does this mean that
A. I must upgrade a pre-existing Big Dude to a Mega-Dude, meaning I will still only have 6 Big Dudes, but one is essentially a 50 pt Megadude?
(essentially upgrading an existing unit for 30pts)
B. I add one more Big dude but instead of being a regular Big Dude, he's a Megadude for 30 pts instead of 20 pts. So I would have 6 reg Big Dudes, and the last one would be a Megadude.
(essentially adding an upgraded unit for 30 pts)
I would like to be more specific, but I'm not sure if this violates the forums policy about not posting specific information from a Codex regarding upgrades and such.
I hope everyone can understand the question I'm asking.
The thing you're adressing is what used to be in a lot of older codexes. 4th ed SM for example...
Upgrading means paying X points on top of the modelcost to have, in your words the Megadude.
If you're refering to the new SM codex... the scout character for example states you replace your normal scout sarge. And given that in the new codex you already pay for a sarge through an entire squad, the cost charged for the replacement is added me thinks.
Oh and on a sidenote... you don't have to post pointcosts, just refer to the army or codex and the page and people will be fine. But the way you've explained it... to me it's clear.
Okay, well this is what I mean specifically. I'm referring to the Ork Code pg. 98, Nobz (can I post the point value of Nobz? I'm pretty sure it's common knowledge and I don't see how it would violate copyright rules).
Anyways, let's say I have a squad of 5 Nobz and I want a Painboy. In that section it says 1 Nob may be a Painboy + X pts)
5x Nobs is 100 pts. So do if I say I want one to be a Painboy, do I just pay + X pts to Upgrade 1x of my Nobz OR do I pay X pts and get an additional Nob who is actually a PainBoy.
Essentially it comes down to 1 question. How many Nobs do I get for 100 + X pts? Do I get 5 or 6?
Normally, I think I would have to pay the X pts and just upgrade a pre-existing one. But if you turn to Page 83 in the Ork Codex it shows a picture of 5 Nobs, including a Painboy and a bunch of Upgrades, but it shows 6 units. If I subtract the total cost of the Upgrades, it leaves me with 6 units for the 100+X pts.
You have to buy the nobs, then pay the points to make one a painboy. If 5 nobs cost Y points, a unit of 4 nobs and 1 painboy costs Y+X points (Y for the 5 models, +X to make one a painboy).1 Nob may be a Painboy + X pts
This situation is the one under A in your original post.
You are also using the term unit ambiguously, it refers to the whole squad (yes; which may only have 1 model in it), rather than the models in a squad.
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom