Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a unit of say Terminators destroy an Ork dedicated transport, can the Termies turn around in the assault phase and assault the passengers? I for the life of me cannot find a clear cut ruling on this. Many thanks.
Everything I've read says no. Check the newest FAQ, I think there was something on it. The idea of a dedicated transport is simply a circumvention of the FOC, the transport and the orks are still separate units. If they fired at the transport, they wouldn't be able to assault a unit behind them, and so they wouldn't be able to assault the orks who were in it.
Nothing in the new FAQ; I checked it before I posted. It does mention non dedicated transport though. So, what is the difference between dedicated and non dedicated transport? Doesn't the word "dedicated" mean it is somehow apart of the unit it transport?
If any model in the unit chooses to fire at a dedicated transport, then the rest of the unit must do likewise. But the unit may charge any passengers that are forced to disembark in the assault phase. It is described on page 67 in the 5th edition 40k rulebook as a note (I will admit that it is hard to spot). Since the models in the transport immediately have to disembark you can consider the charge move like "assaulting multiple enemy units" on page 34 of the rulebook.
So the answer to your question; yes they can gun down the transport and assault the passengers if the vehicle is wrecked or exploded.
Indeed it does. dedicated as it means now, means that no other unit make use that transport for a ride (i.e. IG chimeras).
As for the other points of the argument, look above
Any unit may embark upon a transport they are legally allowed to (i.e no jump infantry in vehichles unless otherwise specified) but for a dedicated transport only the unit it was bought for may deploy inside it. Page 67 has the relevant rules.
Just to make this a nice round post, the answer to the original question is yes.