Space Wolves (against Necrons) - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)
    I am trying to design an army to go against a Necron army of 750 Points

    HQ

    Wolf Lord
    (Frost Blade, Storm Bolter, Terminator Armour) 115

    TROOPS

    6 Grey Hunters
    (2 with Power Weapons, all with Bolters) 128

    6 Grey Hunters
    (2 with Power Weapons, all with Bolt pistols) 122

    8 Blood Claws
    (2 with Power Fists) 136

    HEAVY

    Long Fangs

    4 with Plasma Cannons (Blast weapon with no WBB opportunity without resurRection orb)
    Leader with Bolter 249

    TOTAL 750 Points


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thats a great necron killer, i dont know about all the grey hunters, mabe drop a squad of them for some more blood claws, i dont know youre choice

    Glory to Russ!

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -7 (x0)

    for 750 points is this list really beardy!.

    almost minimal choices, 4 powerweapons, 2 powerfists.
    and 4 plasma cannons.

    this would not be a nice list to play against.

    well I'll be playing with ulthwe then.

    5 troopchoices of 90 points each with a starcannon.
    a cheap seercouncil.
    and a few dark reapers

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks for the feedback guys.
    Just wanting to ask though - I just read the Necron Codex and I am not too sure if the plasma cannons will work in denying WBB rules. Apparently it is only meant to be with close combat weapons that don't give an armour save and ranged weapons that are twice the strength as toughness. Although Plasma cannons don't allow a save to most of the necrons does this mean that they can still use WBB?
    Cheers,
    Polar Bear

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    it negates wbb because it negates armour saves with its ap of 2

  7. #6
    Senior Member OrkSlugga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    In your mind - well you cant prove im not.
    Posts
    413
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Necrons do get there WBB role it is only weapons that deniy saves in combat that they dont get it from, shooting they do unless it is strength 8 or more.
    The poster formaly known as VampireSoul, formaly known as OrkSlugga now known as Orkslugga.


  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks OrkSlugga for the info

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Hey Polar,

    Drop the termie armor on your Lord, attach him to a blood claw pack and give them a rhino to roam around with. Are you using TVR? If not, that'll be a good Lord destroyer squad between the frost fang and the power fists. Plus, you can use the rhino to quickly take a quarter of the table or as a rapid reaction force. Otherwise, good amount of troops and the long fangs should really hurt them .

    Good luck! OoOoo, consider switching your Wolf Lord out for a Rune Priest.... Storm caller can be a great asset when attached with BCs (4 attacks on the charge, int 10 for the first turn through the enemies turn!!&#33.

    Good luck! Let us know how it goes!
    ---------------------------------
    RaG|NaR

    Mooing peacefully since 1996!
    Got Milk?

    <a href='http://www.adeptusminneapolis.com' target='_blank'>Adeptus Minneapolis</a>

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks for the feedback RaG|NaR. Not really too sure whether to use the Rune Priest though because except for my BC with Power Fists, all of my units will already be able to attack first by initiative. I know that I do get moving cover with him though.
    Little bit worried that if I take a Rhino, any of the Necrons have a possibility of scoring a glancing hit on it. Against other armies I really do like to take it to them much faster by using a Rhino but I am not too sure if that is such a good idea against Necrons.

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts