Guess Range Weapons? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member Burke888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    Guess Range Weapons?

    I searched the rulebook and found nothing that indicated what the "G" stood for that is in the weapon description of Imperial Guard Mortars, for example.

    My local gaming group seems to think that Guess weapons mean that the opponent has to guess the range of where the player wants the template to drop, and that's where it drops? Does anyone know how this is really supposed to work, and can you direct me to the page number it is featured on? After repeated searches, I only could find barrage weapons, no guess weapons. Thanks for your time!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Set Sail and Conquer! Cadaver Junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,633
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    301 (x7)

    In earlier editions of the rules, a G next to a weapon description did indeed mean that you had to 'guess' the range of the target before taking your shot.

    In current 4th edition rules, this is no longer the case, the G merely indicates that the weapon is an indirect fire type weapon.

    In other words, you are looking for something that isn't actually in the rules anymore, and I'm pretty sure you wont find a reference to it in there.

    If people in your gaming group are suggesting otherwise, they are quite incorrect.
    That would be like saying that if you move, you cannot rapid-fire a boltgun/lasgun, something that was in 3rd ed but is not in 4th ed. Basically, the rules regarding the 'G' were one of the things to change between 3rd and 4th edition rules.

    Much like space marines and the ability for vet sergeants/characters on bikes to be kitted out with 2 hth weapons and actually being able to use them both in hth for an extra attack.


    So I guess the quick answer is this: You do not need to guess the range.


    Edit: At least as far as I know
    "Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"

    Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.

  4. #3
    Senior Member darby5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Holy Terra
    Age
    38
    Posts
    350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    36 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cadaver Junkie View Post
    ...You do not need to guess the range.
    I am sure there is no guessing anymore but I thought that it always deviated. Do you have to roll to hit?

  5. #4
    Set Sail and Conquer! Cadaver Junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,633
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    301 (x7)

    I am sure there is no guessing anymore but I thought that it always deviated. Do you have to roll to hit?
    Check your rulebook. I'd give you the page number, but am unable to at the moment, sorry.

    Hint: The answer involves a scatter dice, and one or two d6, depending on your situation

    Hope that helps.
    "Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"

    Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.

  6. #5
    Member P4p3Rc1iP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Read under "Barrage Weapons", page 31-32 of the rulebook.

    Hope is the first step on the path to dissapointment. - Isador Akios

  7. #6
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    As P4 points out, the G stands for BARRAGE. All weapons with the G follow the 4th edition rules for barrage. In such they do roll to hit, but not as normal. And they don't always scatter (again, in the rules under barrage).
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Yup, G standards for barrage, so no LOS required but you don't get to measure range for it. Now of course you don't normally get to measure range anyways but basically you throw down the template on whatever you feel like shelling, if its in range it fires, if its not it doesn't .

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts