Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Maybe i should post this in the rules forum, but im not sure. What i want to know is, when creating your own characters and such, and giving them certain special abilities/weapons, what really goes as legal here? Lets say i want to give my warboss a thunder hammer, is that acceptable? Lets say i've got a good story for it, like he looted it from a dead commander, or even that its a orky warhammer, but there are no states for those, so i have to say its a thunder hammer, is that legal? and if not, how can i go about making it legal?
PM me about Aurora Prime Vassal fights! Willing and ready!
Well, you could try and make a counts as rule of it. Giving your warboss a thunderhammer and using it as a powerclaw wouldn't a problem. As for really using a hammer on your ork... I don't know.. I'm guessing most rules, armylists and wargearlists are there for a reason.
It wouldn't be legal if you used different rules. But of course if you had a good story for it and the points were fair then your regular playing group might allow you to use it. I find paying and extra 20 to 50% on 'illegal' wargear normally helps balance a strictly home made special character.
"God is dead" Nietzsche- 1886
"Nietzsche is dead" God- 1900
Why are there scams? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q71FLDIMBc8
As long as you use count-as rules it's perfectly legal. There's nothing against a Warboss with a thunder hammer, seeing as he could easily have looted it.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
I've actually got a very similar problem. I've modelled a ravenwing sergeant to wield a thunderhammer, simply as I think it looks cooler than a powerfist. The problem is that I cannot actually equip a ravenwing sergeant with a thunderhammer. I figure i'll just use a 'counts as as powerfist' rule, but there's more to it than that: I want to take the army to a GT.
Do you guys think this will matter? I will of course explain it before each match, but i'm wondering if anyone would care enough for it to be a problem...
EDIT: I've actually used a rare earth magnet to attach the arm, just in case, but still... He does look cooler with a thunderhammer than he might with a powerfist.
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.
I don't believe that there will be any problem with something as minor as equipping a single model with a Thunder Hammer and explaining that it's a Power Fist, even at the GT, especially since Thunder Hammers and Power Fists have similar rules attached to them anyway. Still, you're correct in that the best policy is always to have Rare Earth Magnets to replace them with WYSIWYG bits.
If worse comes to worst you could use the thunder hammer as a power weapon instead of a power fist. You would lose the strength bonus but at least your model would still be legal.