Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just thinking about this rule and is it a little 'extreme' fluff wise?
I mean, if an Imperial Fists force led by a Librarian was attacked and stood no chance of surviving without help, the BT's would surely help them.
Any long running campaign or huge battle would certainly see the BT's fighting alongside psykers in one form or another - Inquisitors, Sanctioned Psykers, other Librarians and what not.
Is this a Rule that should simply be ignored when fighting a bigger game, or a campaign where random allies are generated or whatever? Or in the context of the rules does 'allies' mean elements from a different army under the control of the BT player rather than another player. If thats the case then the rule makes a little more sense.
I haven't read any BT fluff other than the Codex so I don't know if this is covered elsewhere.
I can't say I've seen it all but I live for the things that keep me hollow.
I think that under certain circumstances, they might bite their tongue and view them as a necessary, but barely tolerable evil.
But I recall reading a section of fluff where marines had trooped through enemy territory to assist a group of guard, only to turn right back around and leave when they learned that the guard were using Ogryns (IE, impure creatures).
It could also be interpreted that they abhor all inappropriate warp Juju. Obviously they'd have to be using things like Astropaths.
I think the rule exists to prevent you from fielding psychic allies from the Witchhunters and Deamonhunters codicies.
The rule itself is to stop a BT players from fielding allied IG and WH forces within their own army. They can still fight along with another player playing with an army who uses psychic powers.
From a fluff perspective yes, the BT's will still fight along-sdie other SM's that field psykers, as has been proven on Armageddon and Cadia and probably countless other worlds. Its just that they themselves don't want psykers in the chapter and would prefer not to have any personal dealings with pyskers from other chapters and organizations. That said, fighting with one on the battlefield is not out of the question, and they will usually work alongside Inquisitors with psychic gifts as well.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
By allies, they mean the rules in the DH and WH codices that let you take Inquisition units in other imperial armies. It has nothing to do with IG though.
I think Abhor the Witch sort of works fluff-wise:
It prevents you from fielding psykers in your army; BT try to avoid including psykers in their force, and the ones that they do probably make use of, such as Astropaths and Navigators, aren't really the type that they would send into combat.
However it does let you play alongside armies that use psykers; In larger battles and such, BT will probably have to work with other forces that have no issues about using psykers.
There is no such thing as a plea for innocence in my court. A plea for innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty.
- Inquisitor Lord Fyodor Karamazov
and remember they will fight alongside Grey Knights..