Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay so i have been collecting chaos since the start of the the previous 4th rules. I have about 4000 points worth of models that have been painted to a good standard etc etc. So! I basically decided that I wanted to give my army a good old Black Legion paint scheme and kind of give it the background of the whole black crusade thingi either post/pre horus's death - im not really bothered as long as I can make sense of the game that im going to play with a friend!
This is just the way i like to play, i don't like having random bits of games where it makes **** all sense with death guard and slaanesh bumming around the place because to be honest they don't really like each other!
However, it has come to my attention (lol) that with these new 5th edition rules I can give my normal space marines marks of the gods without actually turning them into thousand sons or whatever...so I was basically just trying to clarify whether it makes sense for my style of army to have chaos space marines running around with a banner of nurgle here, or khorne there in squads of chaos space marines - but the chaos space marines still having the black legion colour scheme (good old black and gold!!) I wont mind giving my chaos space marines this but I really want to try and not give any of my HQ choices a mark apart from Undivided...does anyone think this is a massively stupid thing to do?? I was thinking of converting some random daemons or cultisty people to run around my lords with a certain banner if that was needed...i just like retaining the unity of Black Legion and not all this weirdo stuff about renegades!! Leave that to people that can be bothered to repaint 3 cases of models >.< I just kinda wanted to blurt this out so sorry if it sounds totally random!!! Thankyoo x x x
That post was a little confusing, but I think the gist of what you were asking was, can you give your CSM squads an icon and still keep them painted in the livery of the Black Legion? If that's what you're asking, then yes, that would be perfectly fine. I do the same with my Word Bearers, while my Chaos Lord runs around with an Undivided Daemon Weapon. Do you have the newest Chaos codex? It's all pretty well explained in there.
Member of the Fluffmasters Clan
Yeh thats pretty much what i was trying to say...hehe does look stupidly confusing sorry about that . I have read the new chaos codex but i was just wondering whether it will make "sense" to have what I said i wanted. x x