Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, I played a game at GW tonight. 1500pts against the guy I first played a month ago. In the first game i was wiped out and only inflicted 1 wound against his whole army. This time I did better but still lost!
Flyrant, ST, TL Dev, Wings, ES, TMiasma, A Glands WS, Psychic Scream
Broodlord, EC, Retinue 6 stealers EC, Scything Talons
Genestealers, 8 Extended Carapace
Gaunt, 16 Fleshborer
Warriors, 3 V, Deathspitter, EC, Es, Scything Talons
Zoanthropes, 2 Warp Blast Synapse
Carnifex, 1 VC, BS, Es, EC, RC, BE
Carnifex, 1 STx2 A Glands WS+I Tusks Spinebanks EC Rc BE
Fast Attack: 0
Heavy Support: 529
A chaplain with 9 terminators, all with powerfists and bolters exept 1 with a chain fist and 1 with lightning claws. The had some mark as well tht granted them powers in cc. (It was a cross with a skull, dunno if that means anything)
2 squads marines, bolters and 1 heavy bolter a piece.
1 squad heavy marines, lascannon, missile launcher, and other heavy weapons
1 predator with 4 lascannons, smoke launchers and machine spirit
4 bikes. 1 of the riders was special in some way. (Had a elder like helmet)
Round 1 he went first, his heavys only had missiles and lascannon in range of my cc fex and took 1 wound from it. His pred took out a few gaunts. He moved one unit of marines around to get line of site on my broodlord and took 1 stealer down, brought everything else forward.
I charged his marines with the broodlord, wiped out all 10, consolidated behind cover butnear his predator. Moved my cc fex out of range from the heavy squad, and strait into Los with his predator! DOH!!! Fired a fex other bits but missed, took my flyrant into cover and moved everything forward.
Round 2. His pred wiped out my cc fex! His terminators wiped out my gaunts, his heavy squad were out of range and remained so for the rest of the game. His bikes and marines both opened fire onto my two zoanthropes, and all shots bounced off!!!!
My broodlord and remaining ret assaulted his pred's rear armour. scored a glancing hit nd crew stunned effect. (Now he reckoned because of the machine spirit he could still move 6 inches and fire 1 weapon. I disagreed, can anyone clear this up?) My other stealers assaulted his bikes, killing 2 and losing all but 4 of themselves! My lictor popped out and destroyed the other 2, dieing in return from a simultaneous hit! My hormies and gaunts assaulted his terminators and chaplain, and all died!
Last turn. He moved the pred then set off smoke launchers which he claimed meant i couldnt shoot or assault the damn thing! His termies finished off my stealers and advanced on my sniperfex. His marines took down one of my zoanthropes.
I fired the venom cannon and barbed strangler at almost point blank range at his term's, the vc missed all shots but the BS killed 4 termies! the flyrant and broodlord sat there useless as only the pred was in range. My warriors and remaining zoan killed 5 of his 10 marines.
And that was it, time up! His terms, with that special mark and chaplain were unstoppable! How are you supposed to defeat that! But with only 3 warriors, 1 zoanthrope and the fex in range he'd of chewed them up no problem as i know from my first game! and im sure he was cheating with the pred but cant say for sure. so my broodlord and flyrant were too far away to do anything else, so victory went to him
No you are right. The power of the machine spirit can only do one thing. Drive OR shoot. So he could have driven the predator or fired one weapon.
Edit: You guys really should study the rules! Look up the smoke launchers section in the BGB. p.69.
Edit again: They appear to be normal terminators. Possibly with an extra hq attached (the one with the lightningclaws if it wasn't the chaplain). If not he cheated.
Last edited by Ratus; November 23rd, 2006 at 22:22.
Damn, what the hell this guy was full of blasphemy!
The machine spirit rules and smoke launcher rules were both done wrong. I don't know about the special mark, someone with a smurf codex will have to answer that one.
If you had destroyed the predator, would it have had an impact on the loss? If so then that sucks. Also, depending on the ruling of the 'special' squad you might have been further swindled.
Oh well, next time bring your rulebook and show this guy who's master of the universe!
Tyranids: 2500 pts
Imperial Guard: 1000 pts
Witch Hunters: 1000 pts
I pulled him up on a few rules. The first, he said my lictor had to deepstrike or hide in cover. He said you had to write down in secret the terrain itll appear from before the game set up! I shot him down on that, and then when i came to deepstrike he was adament that lictors couldnt DS inside cover as theyd die. I read the rules aloud and he backed down! This is a guy who has a nid army himself and has apparently read the new codex many times over!
The pred would of been toast, granting me a draw in points at least, but as ive never played as marines, most of the stuff he said i had to take as truth! (Im new there and this guy has been playing there for years!)
Two other things he was doing. With a BS of three you need a 4+ to hit right? He was saying it was 5+. I let him use this rule as maybe ive read the rule wrong, please clarify this for me!
The other was that nids couldnt advance after winning an assault as they stayed back and fed on the meat! I know this was crap and he let me advance grudgingly but still insisted he was right!
That termie squad. His chaplain had a staff, 3 of the terms has assault cannons and the rest had stormbolters i think. One had a chain fist, the rest had a power glove thingy. Only one termie had a pair of claws, i think he must of used this whole unit of 10 men as 2 hq units. The powers were vauge. He always got to strike first in CC. And got re rolls for hits or wound, cant remember. Also he said they all had 2+ saves and the chaplain had 4+ inv save. This i can beleive! It just seemed nothing could touch this squad! It was only my beautiful fex with his strangler that managed to wipe out 4 of his men in one hit! You should of seen his face! If id taken two sniper fex's and concentrated all fire on these guys Id of won the game!
Anyway, even with all these breaks of rules, he only had 6 terms, 10 marines and his pred left. (The assault marines were right over the other side of the board and couldnt do anything!) One more turn and id of won as only his terms were in combat range. Theyd of took out my fex. Then id of used my flyrant to destroy his pred (that should of been dead already) The broodlord would of burst from cover and desimated his 10 marines, and id still have the warriors and zoan to try and pick off a few more terms! Next time will be different!
Well, my only conclusion is that this guy was cheating. You should have won. Before you play him again, read through the rulebook and codex until you get the hang of them. And look up everything he says. Another trick is to doublecheck things with other experianced people at the gaming store. If your opponent tries to pull anything funny, just ask someone else. Good luck, and good game.
"When one man dies it is a tragedy. When thousands die its a statistic."
He was lying through his teeth with you on those Terminators.
Powerfists and Chainfists ALWAYS strike at Initiative 1. Which means you will ALWAYS go first. Terminator squads cannot have 3 heavy weapons like that. If he took 2 squads, to get the heavy weapons, he cannot combine them like that, and can only take 2 Command HQ squads if their are 2 Independent Characters's leading them, which according to you he did not have.
The only thing that got to reroll to WOUND (not hit) was the guys with lightning claws, and that was only legal if he gave them to his Sgt. Terminators do have 2+ saves with 5+ invulnerable. His chaplain did have a 4+ invulnerable as well.
Smoke Launchers will not allow you to attack it. It only means you can glance it during that turn.
If this guy has been playing for years like you said, then he is a dirty dirty dirty cheat who was trying to take advantage for a cheap win from the new guy. Anyone whose read the marine codex a few times would know these things, so it's obvious he was swindling you. I would suggest you get a SM codex yourself, and learn the rules pretty well. That way if you play this guy again, and he tries that crap, then you can turn around and shove it in his face. Make sure you raise your voice to, so that everyone around knows how dirty he is.
Nights Justice Space Marines
Eldar Eth Kariel Craftworld
Spear of Kurnous - High Elf Expeditionary Army
Yes that would add up to a full termie squad and two hq (chaplain and another). The fists should always strike at initiative 1! Only the clawed attacks reroll to wound. The whole squad would get to reroll to hit, but only the turn they assault.
And yes, BS 3 hits on a four...
This is vile, always strikes first. There is no way the crux terminatus provides that kind of power, always strike first don't work if you have a powerfist. Not to Marines have no such wargear. Also that lightning claw guy should not of been in there. A BS of 3 hits on a 4+ I think. I imagine his Marines were hitting on a 3+ with their BS of 4.
This other onsense about Tyranids hanging around to eat the meat is rubbish and those Lictor rules are the old rules. I think you were cheated. If he was taking so many 'liberties' in his interpretation of Tyranid rules he would of taken plenty with his own.
You should find a impartial person to ask during games, someone who knows the rules. Hope this doesn't happen again, the game is a huge amount of fun and these events are thankfully fairly rare.