Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok..yes, I am SO serious..I didnt close and attack, which with Demonhunters is a fatal mistake, but I did it, I managed to outgun a Tau army...heres how it went down:
750 pt game
Plasma-toting Inquisitor, and Retinue (another Plasma)
2 Squads of Grey Knights, each with a Psycannon
2 Tau firewarrior Squads
4 Stealth Guys
3 Crisis Suits with Shield Drones
ok, here we go
I pick a building structure close to the edge of the table for my Strike location, and guess what...we roll, and he gets that end of the table..and guess what again..I go first...looking good.
ok, so I use the Assassins ability to move one of his Firewarrior units into the peice of terrain.
Turn 1: I close 6", no shooting....he closes 6", doesnt move the guys out of the terrain (uh oh)
Turn 2: I roll Reserves, get them...BOTH....., the Strike hits DEAD on target, eliminating almost an entire unti of Firewarriors, and the assassin drops in from behind, eliminating half a unit of firewarriors.
Turn 3: ok, it gets ugly..ill break to the short version now....
Inquisitor manages to take out 2 of the 3 Suits, wounding the 3rd, b4 he dies...one unit of Grey knights finish off the other, with NO losses as of yet...still no Close Combat....
He moves his stealth team up my flank as well, on top of a tall hill..I manage to hit 2 with psycannons (thats where he screwed up)....I managed to climb the mountian after a few losses, to finish off his Stealth suits, and at the same time, now my psycannon has good firing range to mom up the rest of the firewarriors.
And there you go...not a single Close Combat round, and I managed to out-gun Tau...my First battle against them, and only my second game...how did I do ?
if it went for a bit longer should've started the callidus right in the middle of the firewarriors *shudders* that would be nasty
<u>Fear The Wrath Of The ANZAC Clan</u>
Very nice OrionLethe. One of my buddies is starting a Tau army himself, and he's got enough now that we're got a few games scheduled for this weekend. Reading this report gives me some hope
Great job! By the way, you choose where the orbital strike hits *after* you know which deployment zone is his....
Just wanted to make sure because it seemed like you were glad the terrain piece was on his side.
Haha, foul Tau Xeno scum, the Grey Knights conquer again. Nice job btw, normally noobs cry about how unfair GK vs Tau is
I adopted a cute lil' poison fetus
from Fetusmart! Hooray fetus! </a>
Thanks for the input guys....ok, I had a few questions/responses...
me and this guy are a bit new. he has been playing for a few months, and me only a week or so...so I trusted him on the rules, but we had quite a few rules arguments...maybe we can clear some of them up here...
the orbital strike...he said I had to pick terrain b4 sides were chosen..glad thats wrong, but I was lucky anyways...
ok, the questions....The Inquisitor's Acolytes...can I transfer..say...a wound that the Inqu has to one of them, even if he has one wound to deal with hemself ? Howabout multiple..bc in the rulebook, it says you cant put more than one wound on one guy, but this isnt going on him, its allocated to the Inq and transferred...right ?..what if I wanted to transfer 2 wounds to it, can I do that ?
second question....he says and I quote "everything is firing on this unit" and rolls hits for one of his units, and it kills my unit...can he then say, ok its dead, my others change their minds and fire on another target, or do they all have to fire at once, then they all wound...then my guys die, so he wouldnt be able to do that ???
appreciate the help, but overall, if I did it again I would do it differently Megalomaniac, if youre opponent is using broadsides, dont bother with tanks or dreadnoughts, the rail guns eat um for breakfast....what I plan to do next time is to charge with a swarm of GK, with some in reserve to deepstrike in a flank/rear...stick to CC, dont try to outgun them like I did this time...it wasnt easy...hell, it was over a 3 hour game !
Wounds are worked out as such:
If your inquistor is in a unit of say... 5 guys. Those 5 guys take say... 8 shots from a Tau squad. Those 8 shots would be allocated to the "majority" player in the unit, which would be your 5 retinue members.
To your second question, if you manage to wipe out a squad, your unit CANNOT select another to fire at. Just like when your marine tactical squad shoots at a tank, the other guys cannot just shoot another squad because the missile launcher blew up the tank. It is assumed that their shots provided covering fire or the what not.
I personally think you were lucky. If it wasn't for the orbital strike knocking out that one squad, I think your assassin would've been dead the next turn due to crisis suit fire or from that other fire warrior squad. On the other hand, she would've bought you one more turn to advance and get into close combat.
Anyhow, congrats! I'm just starting Tau too, and it takes awhile to switch strategies....
Mooing peacefully since 1996!
<a href='http://www.adeptusminneapolis.com' target='_blank'>Adeptus Minneapolis</a>
You've got some good questions here. The one about Acolytes and wounds are explained in link i sent you. Basically its done like this:
Your Inquisitor and retinue take 4 wounds. You have 3 Acolytes and the Lord himself. You can transfer one wound to each acolyte and your Lord only takes 1, (this assuming you have no other henchmen).
But, if you take 5 Wounds, you can only transfer one wound to each Acolyte and 2 would then go on your inquisitor. If you have the points you can give the Acolytes 2+ armor saves OR 5+ Invul saves (but their cost doubles).
As far as his shooting phases were going, if he SAYS that two squads are firing on one of your squads, just have him roll all the shots at once, that way he can't "change his mind" after the first one kills everything. Or just have him declar fire one unit at a time, just to clear up confusion. This was been a heated debate at our home games for many months and finally came up with the above solution.
Hope it helps.
On the shooting : According to the big book of rules you pick one squad and fire all of its stuff. Then pick another and repeat. That way he only delcares one squad at a time and the rest dont waste their shots on a dead unit. However you cant do this for each model in a squad. The entire squad shoots at the same target. They use to have a rule for fire carrying over into neighboring units but it got complicated.
Well it was good yeh, but can you clarify what the squads actualyl had numberwise.
Sqaud of 5 GK, 1 with Incenerator.
That makes it more easy to understand.
Thats just my Half enny ( Yes, we are ahead of the Cent! )