Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, ummm ...
I'm new to this game ( 40k ). I've recently brought and built myself a reasonable IG army. Anyhow, I'll try and get straight to the point. After having a few of my first games with a friend who is also new to 40k ( he plays Black Templars ) we've had a few odd circumstances arise and we can't seem to find any answers or solutions to these problems in the rulebook. So, I thought I'd ask here for some clarification if possible.
k, so here goes ...oh actually before you get started, thanks for taking the time to try and make sense of my strangely put/worded questions, I hope you can make sense of what I'm trying to say
1. Using the sharpshooter doctrine - If I roll to hit a target ( using a BS3 model ) and I roll a 1, I get to reroll that shot again but ...if I then rolled another 1, would the model get to fire another shot?
Sounds kinda silly I know but it is possible and it's happened in one of our games and we can't seem to find an answer for this situation. We both think that the model surely would not be able to reroll for a second time.
2. If a unit armed with meltabombs launches an assault against an enemy vehicle and places 5 meltabombs on the side of a tank ( his BT assault squad equiped with meltabombs vs my Leman Russ in this case ). How do we go about working out what sort of hit(s) has/have been scored on the tank? Say for instance he rolls for each individual meltabomb ( if this is how it's done ) and ends up with 3 penetrating hits and two glancing hits - How would we go about working out the actual hit? Does he just pick whichever hit he wants? or the hit that was landed on the tank first? Also, would the BT models ( placing the meltabombs ) have to be in base contact with the tank to place a charge or just within 2" CC range.
This is a real ass of a situation for us tabletop wargaming newbies so a simplified clarification on this matter would be greatly appreciated.
3. If a model armed with two mastercrafted weapons ( my heroric senior officer holding a m/c powersword and a m/c plasma pistol in this case ) ...providing I haven't already used a reroll for the plasma pistol in my shooting phase - Would he get to reroll two failed to hit rolls in CC?
An odd question but one that needs answering I guess. I think he ( my heroric senior officer ) wouldn't get two failed to hit rerolls in CC no matter what but if it was all legit this would give him an extra edge in CC which is great news for me so I hope to find an answer for this one.
Now, with me being an honest guy and all, and with me being a daily consumer of cannibis for the past 10 years ...my memory can sometimes escape me, so. Rather than putting you through the pain of sifting through a whole bunch of my poorly worded/explained questions and situations, I guess I could just list them a few at a time as I remember them and also as they pop up for the benefit of everyone.
So yeah, there are my first newbie tech questions - cheers for taking the time to read through and attempting to make some sense of it all, many thanks in advance.
- Dylan - pothead, kiwi ( New Zealander ), 23 year old father of two and Imperial Guard newbie, cannon fodder recruit
Let ==Me== see...
1) In the main rulebook, it clearly states that you may not re-roll a re-roll, so no re-roll
2) You roll for each melta bomb, and they each do damage, so he rolls on the penetrating table 3 times and on the glancing 2 times.
3) You cannot master-craft 2 weapons, as master-crafting is wargear, and you cannot take a piece of wargear twice.
Hope this helps.
Check out ==My== blog: www.bnhblog.blogspot.com
Questions 1 and 2 answered perfectly, thanks a lot. That's really helped heaps, I appreciate it.
Question 2 ( regarding meltabombs ) still needs to be a bit clearer though ( sorry ). Because if you scored all those hits wouldn't you end up with all kinds of different results on the damage table. Which would then lead back to - Which hit(s) gets counted ( see question 2 ) etc, hehe ...
All of the hits get counted. Lets say you got two penetrating and three glancing hits with those meltabombs, you would roll twice on the penetrating and three times on the glancing tables. Then you just stack all the results. Note, if you get crew stunned or shaken twice it still only lasts one turn. But aside from that, all the hits still count.
Hell, yesterday I demolished a hellhound with a squad of firewarriors shooting point blank. Got vehicle destroyed on the pentrating table twice and vehicle immobilized and destroyed on the glancing table.
That's one very dead tank.
Sweet man thanks, that kinda makes sense to me ...just one more thing really regarding that matter to finilise it all ...
What if you were to end up with 4 penetrating hits, and from them ( example ) you rolled two 5's and two 6's on the penetrating table and managed to destroy the vehicle 4 times over each with different results ...how would you work out the directions of the explosions/vehicle flipping etc? would they stack up also? and if they did, the tank debri, would that fly in different directions? or would the tank just take the one nastiest hit and leave it at that?
hhmmm, also ...
a few more questions
1. I've ordered a Vindicare Assassin and I want to use him in my games but - I seen somewhere that to take an assassin in your IG, SM or SOB army, you must now also have an Inquisitor in your army to be able to field the assassin. I don't remember any of the details as such but I remember something along the lines of it having something to do with new updates/rules/codexes etc.
So yeah, in basic terms - Do I have to have an Inquisitor in my army to be able to field my assassin? Bloody gutted if this is the case.
2. The powersword my Heroric Senior Officer holds/uses - Does he get +1 to the strength when dishing out CC attacks like the BT Emperors Champion does? or is that just too hopeful? hehe
I'm guessing he doesn't get the +1 bonus as I can't find it written anywhere ( as it clearly is in the EC's profile ). Silly question really but here's hoping haha.
I'll think of more crazy questions, cheers for taking the time to answer them.
a few things:
1. the Emperors champion black sword is not a power sword but a uniqe weapon wich works like a power weapon with +2 Strength. othe power weapons dont get that if not stated otherwise.
2. to my understandig, yes you need an inquisitor if you want to use an assasin (but im not very sure about this one...)
3. about the melta bombs part, i dont think you can put more then one melta-bomb every turn... im not really sure, but the way i figure it, if a unit that has melta-bombs\krak granedes can make as many attack as models that are around the target, they will have no chance of not destroying it seven+ times, the logical thing is that one modek go to the target,put the charge on it while the others cover him and then they all run away! it just doesnt seems logical to me that a 10 men assault squad can make 10 6+2d6 attacks per turn!
Sweet, cheers for clearing that up.
Also on a side note the Champion only gets +1 to strength with the black sword.
Another question that's popped up ...
My opponent uses a typhoon land speeder which has twin-linked typhoon missile launchers on it. Now, being a twin linked weapon he would get to reroll a missed shot yes? But, how does this work as the twin-linked typhoon missile launcher uses the blast template? ...if he wasn't happy with how his first shot landed, would he get to place the marker down, fire and take a chance at hitting all over again?
Seeing as you wouldn't be able to technically miss ( to hit ) your target as it uses the scatter dice for the blast landing? is this correct?
Cheers in advance. :o
You only roll the scatter die for Ordance weapons, not blast weapons. You roll to hit, and if its acurate then you center it over a model. Thats all there is to it.
blast are not like ordenence, you dont scattr and you dont auto hit. you nedd to decide exaxtly where is you blast marker, but you have to hit first, so if the ML is twin linked you can rerol to hit rolls
--- BtB only. I'm not sure if that's stated anywhere, but since most specialty CC attacks are BtB only, I figure MeltaBombs and KrakGrenades would be the same.Originally posted by Dylan@Mar 5 2004, 16:46
2. Also, would the BT models ( placing the meltabombs ) have to be in base contact with the tank to place a charge or just within 2" CC range.
And all hits count as MB/KG hits, meaning a unit with MBs can seriously overkill a vehicle.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."