Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you take a Bike and then the True Grit skill (as you can in a White Scars trait army), do you still receive the benefits accrued from the rule or do you not get anything because the Bolter is technically mounted on the Bike and not equipped to the Marine?
Oh, and while we're on the subject, do Bikes still give you the bonus attack for riding them (I was under the impression this was a universal rule that was misprinted) or is that just Chaos bikes?
Last edited by NiteRabbit; July 25th, 2007 at 10:38.
1. - not unless the rider has a bolter in his hand
2. no - the bike its self does not confer an additional attack
Everything you have been told is a lie!
As Cheredanine said, the Bolter has to actually be in the rider's hand. For Space Marines, it's impossible to receive the bonuses, as they are equipped with bike-mounted twin-linked Bolters as opposed to normal Bolters.
A character riding a bike and given a Bolter from the Armoury, however, could use the skill if able to be given the skill. A bit redundant, but possible.
Yes, as other have said, this is not possible. However, I don't think you would even want this to be possible.
The bolter is a Rapid Fire weapon... Even if you have True Grit. So you cannot Assault after you fire it.
While on a bike, you can assault after shooting any bike-mounted weapon, but again, this only applies to bike mounted weapons. If you used True Grit, then the weapon is in your hand and you would lose the ability to shoot and then assault. Much more valuable IMHO.
1 - The only mention of "bike mounted" weapons anywhere in the rulebooks comes on page 53 of the BGB and states "If rapid fire weapons are mounted on a bike, then they are allowed to fire once up to maximum range even if the bike moved." So having the weapon mounted on the bike just allows you to fire at max range.
2 - Next sentence: "In addition, rapid fire weapons and heavy weapons may be fired if the unit moves and the bike is still allowed to charge into close combat in the same turn." So regardless of whether or not the weapon is mounted, it can still fie and the model may still assault.
3 - There is really next to no distinction between the bike and the rider anymore... and honestly that is how it should be. Treating them as separate entities creates oddities in the rules and complicates things where it could just be simple.