Swarms and instant death - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Age
    54
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Swarms and instant death

    Hi. Can anyone clear up the instant death rules as they apply to swarms for me. Two examples should paint the picture. Firstly, a four base strong unit of rippers is shot at by two autocannon, that get two wounds. Does this mean that one base takes two wounds, and is then instant killed as the autocannon are strength 7 against toughness 3 swarms, which leaves three bases of rippers. Or does one base take one wound, is instant killed, and then another base takes another wound, and that one also expires. To take the point further, had the autocannon succeeded in hitting four times, and wounding four times, would this wipe the unit out completely, or would one base take three wounds and die, and another take one and then be instant killed, leaving two. Thanks for the help


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Dawn Under Heaven Triumph Of Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MIA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,971
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    -170 (x0)

    Each wound inflicted would destroy a base IIRC.


    Karmoon
    ... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    52
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Triumph Of Man View Post
    Each wound inflicted would destroy a base IIRC.
    Yupper, sad but true. Use cover or die. So in your example, two wounds = two bases die. Four wounds = four bases die.

  5. #4
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    In a unit which consists entirely of multi-wound models, you allocate wounding hits to a single model until it dies. So for example, your 4 autocannon hits fired at a Tau Crisis 3-man unit could potentially remove 2 of those suits, depending on the saving throw success.

    With Scarab bases/Ripper swarms, where the Toughness is 3, a single autocannon wound is sufficient to snuff out a base, due to the Double Toughness = Instant Death rule. So two wounds would take out two entire bases, three would kill three, etc.

    In the case of Swarms who are Vulnerable to Blasts/Templates, where they have been hit by plasma cannon shots, it would only require two wounding hits from the Plasma Cannons to take down four bases as each wounding hit counts double.

    Hope this helped a little.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  6. #5
    Airborne Mastershake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,664
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    479 (x8)

    In a unit which consists entirely of multi-wound models, you allocate wounding hits to a single model until it dies. So for example, your 4 autocannon hits fired at a Tau Crisis 3-man unit could potentially remove 2 of those suits, depending on the saving throw success.

    With Scarab bases/Ripper swarms, where the Toughness is 3, a single autocannon wound is sufficient to snuff out a base, due to the Double Toughness = Instant Death rule. So two wounds would take out two entire bases, three would kill three, etc.

    In the case of Swarms who are Vulnerable to Blasts/Templates, where they have been hit by plasma cannon shots, it would only require two wounding hits from the Plasma Cannons to take down four bases as each wounding hit counts double.

    Hope this helped a little.

    E.
    And god forbid your swarm should get hit by 5" templates, then it's all over but the crying.:cry:
    Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009

  7. #6
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    Wait till the 10" Apocalypse one hits the table! Or the Flamer one :cry:

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  8. #7
    Junior Member meanperson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    For the official knife in the back of swarm users, see page 26 of the rulebook under removing casualties. "When a unit suffers wounding hits, each will affect a different model - you cannot claim that all the hits strike a single model." However, this appears to be referring to single wound models. The rule on the next page states that "When a unit contains several multiple-wound models, and those models take wounds, you must remove whole multiple-wound models from the unit as casualties where possible..." So in theory you could claim that you have to follow this rule, allocating three wounds to one base and one wound to a second base before determining that the weapon was of sufficient strength to kill the second base instantly. It all depends on exactly when you remove the model due to instakill; while allocating wounds or after all wounds have been allocated. It could be argued, and very strongly, that instakill weapons essentially make multiple-wound models count as only having a single wound, therefore making the first rule take precedence. Note: although I must admit that I have used this argument in desperation, I cannot condone using it to save yourself. If it comes down to it, do as the book suggests when seemingly conflicting rules are used and roll on it.

  9. #8
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    Rather than do that, download the FAQ here:

    Games Workshop - Shrine of Knowlege

    and staple it into the back of your rulebook. It explicitly tells you to remove an entire base for each wound. =)

  10. #9
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    The instant killing wound will remove all the wounds, and there would still be wounds left over to apply to the rest of the squad.

    So you couldn't try to claim what you're saying. A single wounding hit from an instant kill weapon removes all wounds, so further hits could not be applied to the same model.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  11. #10
    Member King_Nerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    London, England
    Age
    46
    Posts
    243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    What about Synapse protection from instant kills for Nids?

    To answer my own question, it does not work for Ripper Swarms (as per Nids codex special rules)
    "Here dead lie we because we did not choose to live and shame the land from which we sprung. Life, to be sure, is nothing much to lose; but young men think it is, and we were young."
    A. E. Housman

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts