Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This came up in a recent game of mine. I had two units that were in close proximity. My opponent wanted to charge both units with an IC. My position was that he had to charge straight at the closest model and could therefor engage only one unit. His position was that because he declared he was charging both units, he had to charge straight to the closest point where he could be in base-to-base contact with both units and could therefor engage both units.
We looked up the rules, but they weren't specific about this case. Can anyone offer some clarity?
You are in the right, he has to move into base with the closest model. Units get around this since once you move the closest model to the closest enemy model the rest are free to engage the other unit.
You are only allowed to declare a charge against the same unit you shot at. And even if you didn't shoot, there is nothing in the rules that says you can declare an action against multiple units...except in very rare situations, and those situations are specifically spelled out in that units description.
A unit does NOT charge 2 units at a time. It charges one unit, and if by following normal rules for engagement (must stay withing coherency) it can reach a second unit, that unit is also locked.
Yep, you have it right indeed. Your page refs would be
1. P.37 BGB paragraph two lines 1-7
2. P.50 BGB second bullet point under "Characters in Battle"
3. P.51 BGB first paragraph under "The Assault Phase", last sentence.
The important things to remember are that a) an IC is considered a Unit consisting of a single model and b) Units have to follow the rule that the model contained in that unit which has the least distance to cover to reach an enemy model must be moved into contact with that specific enemy model.
Therefore, since the IC is that "Model in the Unit which has the least distance to cover", he *must* be moved into contact with the closest enemy model.
@Sinjin: You're correct as well, except that you can declare a charge on more than one enemy unit as long as you follow the rules as laid down on P.37 BGB Paragraph 2. In Paragraph 1, the words "or units" are included in brackets on Line 2. Both enemy units would then be Locked in CC, with some of their members being also Engaged.
On P.36 BGB right column, top four lines, it also says that "A unit may charge any enemy unit that can be reached by at least one of its models making an assault move"
The important element is that the first model to be moved has to be the one which is closest, and that if shooting occurred then the closest model to that enemy unit has to be the first one moved. Thereafter, any number of enemy units may be assaulted as long as coherency is maintained, etc.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
And there are several things that can declare actions against several units at a time, just an FYI. tank shocking, shooting with longfangs, charges, firing from titans, and a couple of others.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)