Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey guys, whats up?
Just wondering: Say I have my Black Templars force, which, for Fluff reasons, includes an allied squad of Grey Knights. I also have my standard Marshal HQ.
Is it possible or legal to attach my Marshal to the GKs at any point during the game? If so, what happens to all the Special Rules both sides have:
Black Templars Rules
Rites of Exorcism
Do both sides keep their Specials? Do either lose any?
I think that from a rules perspective nothing prohibits you from having a character join an allied squad. from a fluff perspective it looks a bit funny, though.
In allied forces most special rules affecting one unit cannot be transffered to the allied unit. Also please check in the BGB about which skills are lost if a character joins a unit that doesn't have it or has a different one (which doesn;t really apply in your case, I think).
In your case I would say:
Righteous Zeal - lose
Vow - depends on vow
True Grit - keep
Aegis - keep
Shrouding - lose
Rites of Exorcism - keep
Daemonic Infestation - keep
EDIT - most of these are "gut feeling" decisions.
Shut up and play.
If you look at the universal special rules in the BGB they indicate which rules are gained by a unit and which rule are lost. As far as special rules I would have to see the codex
I have seen the Universal Special Rules, and they have nothing to say on the matter.
All that is relevant in there is True Grit (Grey Knights keep it) and Preferred Enemy (Vow, Marshal keeps it).
As Lamenter said:
I presume Righteous Zeal is lost, as the only model able to use it is the Marshal, and he can't Zeal without breaking from the GKs.
Aegis is what the GKs wear, so it can't be lost.
Rites of Exorcism applies to the battle, so its kept.
Daemonic Infestation is also a battlefield rule, so its kept.
However, I may disagree with Lamenter on the Shrouding not being kept.
In the Fluff part of the rule, it states that the combined prayers of the GKs confuse the enemy, making it harder to see.
While the Marshal does not have this rule, surely being part of the squad that does will make it harder to see him aswell?
Also, do GKs benefit from "And They Shall Know No Fear"?
GKs do not have ATSKNF because they are all Fearless to begin with!
One could just as easily turn the fluff argument around and ask wouldn't the presence of a guy who doesn't know how to mask himself like the rest give away the location of the entire squad?
While that seems like a convincing arguement, I'm still inclined to disagree:
Grey Knights use The Shrouding to confuse their enemies. Its not like they cannot be seen, its just the fact that the enemy's mind it in a state of confusion. The power is in the enemy's mind, not surrounding the squad.
After some debate in the Chatroom, and after re-reading the Codex, I've decided to agree with you, lol. My Marshal is too dumb to hide himself, so hes gonna draw fire.