Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just played a game against Witch Hunters. He had two Penitent Engines. I scored four glancing hits (Necron gauss). We weren't sure how to resolve the damage, so we rolled one at a time and wrapped the damage. I think I shook the first (ignored), then took a weapon off the second, then destroyed the first, and did something else to the second. Our thinking was that rolling all four dice on the Penetrating Hit table at one time would cause one of two problems. First, I could destroy one and then apply all three of the other results to the second vehicle. Advantage to me. Second, he could claim all four hits against one vehicle, since I only rolled one "vehicle destroyed," leaving no damage on the second Engine. Advantage to him. By wrapping the damage we insured a fairly balanced result, with the understanding that any Engine destroyed could not absorb more hits. We couldn't find anything better under vehicles.
Any idea what the actual rule is?
Pretty sure this is covered in the BGB FAQ, maybe that was for Blast template allocations among Squadrons...
Nonetheless, BGB p 73 Vehicles "Squadrons- Shooting" says you should allocate hits among Squadron members before doing damage rolls, can't be hit twice until others take a hit. Saves the whole "Who gets what result"situation
Sounds like you did the fair thing, kudos to you
LO RULESOriginally Posted by Jaffar_Hasad
Yep, hits have to be allocated before penetration rolls are made, just as has been said. (P.73 BGB lines 7-11 under "Shooting Phase".)
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Thanks, all. That covers it. Makes sense, too. We kept looking under vehicles and walkers and not seeing anything. Guess we looked in the wrong place.
What jONESIE said is correct, but the important thing for you guys was resolving in such a way that no one felt cheated, thus following that most important rule that GW emphasizes. Now you've avoided GW's ninja death squad, phew!