Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can Jetbikes move over impassable terrain?
That really has to be determined with your opponent. There are big impassible terrain (imagination) that's as high as the eyes can see or there are impassible terrain that's only on the ground level such as pool of lava. Agree with your friend on how the terrains are treated before the game starts. p.17 of the rulebook.
Anima Tactics - try it out!
Compare the Jetbike entry on P.54 BGB "Movement Phase", Skimmer entry on P.61 BGB, "Guidelines on categorising Terrain" on P.16 BGB and "Impassable Terrain" on P.17 BGB.
P.16 Clarifies that Difficult Terrain and Impassable Terrain are two completely separate categories. Examples of both types are given in the outbox.
P.17 details how Impassable Terrain is handled regarding models in general, with certain exceptions mentioned.
P.54 *Only* mentions Difficult Terrain for Jetbikes. In the initial paragraph of the page it says that Jetbikes may "make powered boosts over obstacles". 'Obstacles' are clarified in the Movement Phase paragraph as being friendly/enemy models and Difficult Terrain. What is classed as Difficult Terrain is defined on P.16 BGB
P.61 mentions both Difficult AND Impassable Terrain concerning Skimmers.
Going by RAW therefore, and to answer the OP's question using these refs, I would say no to Jetbikes being able to end their move hovering over Impassable Terrain as it is not specified as a permitted ability in their rules entry in the BGB.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Firstly Jetbikes are not vehicles and therefore not subject to Skimmer rules.
Jetbikes are an extension of the rider in game terms, conferring abilities to the rider and providing a weapons transport system beyond what a normal troop can achieve.
And what you are asking here is can they “move” over impassable terrain, not starting or stopping on it.
So referring to the Impassable Terrain Rules on page 17 there is only mention of the denial of placing models “in” the terrain and the granting of the ability to fly above it if the model is “like a skimmer.”
And I agree with the others here, Jetbikes are not like a skimmer and therefore cannot pass over impassable terrain.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
OK, that's what I expected.
Thanks for the replies.