Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok title probably a bit confusing, however to clarify i'm wondering about the bits of wargear that have 1 points cost or 2 different points cost.
Though i most probably know the answer already, i just want to confirm something to make sure when i create my Marine army i don't go breaking rules or anything.
Basicaly i know what happens with items with 2 points costs, i'm just wondering if items with only a single points cost, be it weapon or wargear, can only be taken by a multiple wound character or whether any can take it, but they have the same points cost?
sorry if its a bit of a newbie question, just as i said i want to make sure im not breakin rules or anything.
There nothing in the book about single-wound models being restricted from certain wargear. If a piece of wargear only has 1 price, then it's the same cost for anybody who takes it.
The only restrictions on what wargear a model can take, are the ones directly specified. Namely that only 1 of certain pieces of wargear can be taken, and a model in Terminator Armor can only take certain gear. But other then that, there are no restrictions.
good, its just that i've been wanting to make my army equipment coincide more with the fluff that i'm currently writing for them, and was wanting to add a few units where the captains have twin lightning claws.
on the items with two point costs, that usually denotes to characters. Let me explain this.
you have your CHAOS LORD and your ASPIRING CHAMPIONS. with the two point costs, the LARGER goes to the LORD while the smaller goes to your CHAMPIONS. in the codex it will tell you in the fine print.
Its only Characters that can take Wargear upgrades (see your own Codex’s Armoury Rules to evidence this) and the multiple points costing that usually will look something like 5 pts/20pts and will be explained above that particular entry.
Its safe to assume that the first and lower points costing will usually go towards the lesser model, be it a vehicle or troop choice and the higher points costing usually awarded to the greater model.
Multiple wounds (as mentioned before) are no indication of the ability to take wargear and so the dual points listing has no effect on this.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Sorry bout this but it seems that a few things were misunderstood, i know that an item with multiple points costs can be taken by anyon and that the lower cost goes to single wound models, and the higher to multiple wound models, my query is with the items with only a single points cost.
I do space marines as an army so for an example, giving equipment to a commander and a tactical squad sergeant, the equipment being lightning claws for the easiest example.
I know that i can give both a single lightning claw, as it has the two points costs, the higher being for the commander, and the lower for the sergeant.
However seems that Two lightning claws has only the single points value, would i only be able to give it to the commander, or would it be possible to give it to the sergeant as well?
I understood your question, and answered it correctly, then everybody else confused the issue.
To be perfectly clear: an item in the wargear section with only 1 listed cost can be taken by anyone who has access to the armory.
Thanks Sinjin, i read your post, but i think that i started getting confused with what the others posted, this realy helps, as i'm now looking forward to building several sergeants with twin lightning claws hehe (lots of ripping people apart lovely8Y)