inquisitor transport - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member jimmy123456789's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Age
    27
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    inquisitor transport

    if you have an independent inquisitor and a vechicle transport can that inquisitor join a unit and let that unit ride the transport?

    "Advance, or it will not be daemonic blood that stains my hammer this day."
    Inquisitor Lord Hephaestos Grudd, addressing Colonel Molain of the 223rd Gudrunite Rifles.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Eternal Crusader Helbrecht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Washington
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,968
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    116 (x5)

    Yes as long as there is enough room to accomadate the inquisitor and squad in a transport. So say an inquisitor joins 10 inquisitorial storm troopers mounted in a chimaera, the chimaera can hold 12 peoiple so the inquisitor + IST can all fit because they are only 11 models.
    Xbox Gamertag: x Helbrecht x

  4. #3
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by jimmy123456789 View Post
    if you have an independent inquisitor and a vechicle transport can that inquisitor join a unit and let that unit ride the transport?
    Pretty sure you can't buy a transport for the Inquisitor without a retinue. However, if you have, say, a Land Raider as a Heavy Support choice, then yes - the Inquisitor may join the unit and they may ride in the transport so long as they aren't restricted by other things (unit size, etc.). If you mean the unit has a dedicated transport, then that's also a yes - the Inquisitor may join that unit and ride in their transport so long as he's joined with them, and so long as they haven't gone over the unit size restriction.

  5. #4
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Hi,
    The Inquistor “must” be accompanied by a retinue (page 22 Codex) so you will never have a lone Lord at the start of the game.

    So I fail to see how this unit could be attached to another unit for the purposes of embarking onto a transport until the retinue is destroyed. If this happens then the Lord then regains his independent status and can attach to other units at will, but not before.

    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  6. #5
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by wickywacky1 View Post
    Hi,
    The Inquistor “must” be accompanied by a retinue (page 22 Codex) so you will never have a lone Lord at the start of the game.

    So I fail to see how this unit could be attached to another unit for the purposes of embarking onto a transport until the retinue is destroyed. If this happens then the Lord then regains his independent status and can attach to other units at will, but not before.

    Cheers.
    An "Elite" Inquisitor may be taken without a retinue. Only Inquisitor Lords are required to take retinues, it's optional for the Elite version.

  7. #6
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis View Post
    An "Elite" Inquisitor may be taken without a retinue. Only Inquisitor Lords are required to take retinues, it's optional for the Elite version.
    Hi,
    I stand corrected, you are quite right, I thought the original post was only referring to the HQ choice.

    Interesting difference there though.

    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  8. #7
    PP is my master now... Hasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles (unfortunately)
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,213
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    135 (x4)

    Lost Nemesis has it right, in that only Inquisitors with retinues may purchase a transport. However, this only delays the problem. What happens if his retinue is destroyed? May he join another unit and have them ride in his dedicated transport?

    -H
    Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
    -George Orwell

    www.drmcninja.com
    If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!

  9. #8
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Hasten View Post
    Lost Nemesis has it right, in that only Inquisitors with retinues may purchase a transport. However, this only delays the problem. What happens if his retinue is destroyed? May he join another unit and have them ride in his dedicated transport?
    No, since it's not their transport. If they aren't the unit the transport is purchased for, they can't ride in it. The presence of the inquisitor doesn't change that fact.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  10. #9
    Eternal Crusader Helbrecht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Washington
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,968
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    116 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Rork View Post
    No, since it's not their transport. If they aren't the unit the transport is purchased for, they can't ride in it. The presence of the inquisitor doesn't change that fact.
    Rork has it right, hence the term dedicated transport. If an inquisitor purchases a transport no one but his retinue can ride in it, but an inquisitor w/o a retinue can join another unit and ride in their transport like I posted above.
    Xbox Gamertag: x Helbrecht x

  11. #10
    Dark Eldar Gerbil Splata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    159 (x5)

    agreed, if he joins that unit, he has joined that unit and they have become one under the unit's heading. So they may not jump on as it is not dedicated to them
    Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
    Dear Game Developer,
    Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
    Signed Scissors.

    WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=149386

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts