Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok I was rereading the rules book, and now I'm confused on the casualty rules on pages 26 and 27. Please bear with me as this is probably a newbish question
It says in the paragraph "Under normal circumstances, ..." that we can somehow nominate one model to take one single wound to save against, and later in the next paragraph, assuming he survives this single save, it says he can then be assigned one of the remaining wounds.
The questions are:
1. This nominated model can make 2 saves?
2. Who can we assign as this special model? Artificer sergeants? ICs?
3. What happens if say 15 wounds goes against say 5 models? Does that mean we take one special save and later on divide the remaining 14 against the remaining models?
The way we've always played in my area is that we always just make as many saves as we can before assigning which models dies. I probably misread something in these two paragraphs, rediscovering this rule just makes me confused now
I believe you are talking about this:
If you cause more wounds than you opponent has models in the unit you can request that he take a save on a specific model. The rest of the saves are taken on the unit as normal. The purpose of this is to get rid of unit champions, special weapons, etc.
If the wounds you cause is equal to or more than the number of models the enemy unit has, you can nominate any one model from that unit to make that model roll it's save first. The other wounds are saved as normal.
To answer your third question, if you cause your opponent's 5 model unit 15 wounds (from a single shooting unit or individual initiative step) you can nominate any one of his 5 models to make it's save first. Then he rolls for saves against 14 wounds as normal, which means he makes as many saves as he can before assigning which models die.
Thanks guys, I think I got confused on who gets to assign that special single save. Now I can see its use as stated, ie forcing a special model to take a save first.
Rep for all.