Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This sunday I had the pleasure of playing in an Apocalypse Relsease event at All Fun & Games in Apex, NC. Everyone had a good time and I'll post some pics of that later. However, I was a little frustrated when I leapt on an unit of 19 immortals with my 2 Demonhosts and tooled up Chaplain with Thunderhammer. The Chaplain wanted to use his Thunderhammer, for the instakills with no WBB. However, since he would then go on Initiative 1, the Demonhosts went first. The Necron player chose to take the casualties from the Demonhost attack from the Immortals in base contact with my Chaplain, so by the time my Chaplain went, he had noone to strike. This seems to indicates that you *cannot* use your independent character's PF or TH if anyone else is attacking the same squad, since casualties will be taken so there will no longer be anyone btb with the IC. Is this right? Are my ICs with PF or TH doomed to attacking by themselves??
Stormcrows Chapter of the Space Marines
This is why no one puts powerfists or TH or the like on their independant Characters.
Additionally, it's a total waste of their superior initiative.
however, there's a flip side to this:
If you position your PF wielding IC, NEXT to the seargeant or expensive member of the enemy squad, in order to neuter your IC, he'll have to remove some expensive models.
That said, with faceless necrons, it's all the same.
These are the hidden 'tactics' of 40K and the reason why it has a lot more depth to it than people give it credit for.
I have nothing to add just seconding what Karmoon said. Sometimes it helps to see a consenting second opinion. I would say at least half my opponents do not remove casualties as thoughtfully as they could, to my benefit.
War Record Since Sept 2005
Old Codex 48-20-9 Dark Eldar
New Codex 1-0-0 Dark Eldar
Not giving an IC an 'always strikes last' weapon is one of the golden rules of Space Marine play.
Now you know. (and knowing is half *BANG* uhhhh.....)
Yep entirely legal.
This is why I means so much in CC, things like broodlords, DE Archons and the like are ridicuously dangerous because with some crafty positioning they can wipe out a units heavy CC power (i.e vet sarge with powerfist) looong before it will strike.
Also it makes them lethal HQ hunters (a khorne lord maybe hard but if he's dead he cannot strike).
My most effective HQs are Jumpack Chap w TH and Bike riding Chap with PF. Close second are my Librarian w Jumpack and Fury, and my Master with Jumpack and Master-crafted Lightning claw/Stormshield. Honorary mention goes to Termie Librarian w Fear the Darkness, whenever he teleports in the midst of non-fearless units.
Stormcrows Chapter of the Space Marines
It's great that you've had luck with your IC set up so far.
But, I think as you find more experienced opponents, this set up will probably work less and less for you.
Not only can ICs with init 1 weapons be neutered.. but they can also be victimised quite heavily. As in, the enemy gets to attack often multiple times before your IC does.
So.. when it's a group of guardsmen - that's fine... but when it's a squad of Khorne Bezerkers.. then it's a different issue.
There are no right and wrongs - it's just a game.
Please just see it as food for thought.
Well, he'd do better then if your opponent weren't cheating! Power weapons always deny We'll Be Back Rolls. They do not have to be double the model's toughness like a shooting attack.And if they are necrons, they are not getting back up. ... My Chaplain in that combat ended up using his Rozarius, scoring a couple of kills a turn which usually got up.
However a res orb does let you rol lfor WBB even if hit by a power weapons.
Since this thread is on frustrating CC technicality, here's something I discovered with my regular use of SM Terminators. Do correct me if it's somehow illegal though.
Notice that only the sergeant has a power weapon, and the rest of the guys have power fists? I always remove my sergeant first if I had one CC casualty, and this helps to keep one normal Terminator's 2-3 powerfist hits. I still remember the look on my friend's face when I did this to him hehe (what, you mean all your powerfists can still hit!?):party2: