Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok it seems evident that 1. an inquisitor must start with a retinue. also that the transportmust have the space needed.
but can't we make the argument that since the transport is taken as an upgrade for a unit the upgrade would transfer over with the inquisitor to the joined unit. i mean the problem i see is that normally a unit can not join other units but since the inquisitor becomes a independent character he can thus join other units provided the upgrade is still there.
when an character joins another unit that unit and character form one new unit with the same stats and upgrades as it had before right?
thanks for the comments!
"Advance, or it will not be daemonic blood that stains my hammer this day."
Inquisitor Lord Hephaestos Grudd, addressing Colonel Molain of the 223rd Gudrunite Rifles.
The rule book explicitly states that a dedicated transport may only ever be used by the unit for which it was purchased.
It then goes on to make an explicit exception to that rule for ICs who join a unit that has a transport.
It does not include an exception for the opposite situation.
The permissive rules principle leads us to conclude that a unit may not embark on a transport dedicated to an IC who joins them.
and jimmy you really should have just continued this in the other thread... i thought cool something new with the transport system. Then i got depressed when it was an offshoot of the same question.
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
First, Inquisitors do not have to have a retinue - only Inquisitor Lords must. Second, you still can't do it - it works the other way around, as explained, but not the way you're trying to get it to work. It's explicitly stated in the rulebook.
Finally, this really should have been kept in your other thread, as already said. Next time, try to keep basically the same topic in the same thread. I'll go ahead and close this one as the answer is clear and it's just a continuation of another thread - any questions, feel free to PM me.