Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Apocalypse has me looking at things like orbital strikes for witch hunters, what with the FOC restrictions removed.
However, I've also seen stuff like the vindicator linebreaker squad's special rules...
Now my question...
As orbital strikes have to be keyed to a certain piece of terrain prior to deployment, to determine where they fire, what happens if that piece of terrain is subsequently destroyed?
I've also head of some cityfight folks who insist that orbital strikes targetted on a building can't fire on a building reduced to rubble as its 'not the same piece of terrain that existed at the beginning of the game."
...I'd be sorely tempted to smack that Cityfight guy upside the head with the cityfight book. Better yet, use the Apocalypse book!
Granted, this is one of those pesky corners GW seems to love writing themselves into, and I'd put decent money on this being one of the first topics that gets at least partially addressed in any Apocalypse FAQ's. But still, come on... They're just trying to weasel their way out of a situation they're scared of - the Strike.
The spirit of the rule, if not the letter, is that your orbiting Battleship has been told to "shoot at that spot over there, and don't stop until I tell you to". An orbiting ship is not going to be counting on visual recognition of a building for its targeting, and chances are that the strike blows away its own target terrain with the first salvo, anyways!
The terrain piece is supposed to be replaced with an appropriate patch of rubble, correct? So that rubble is then used to mark the target spot, in lieu of the building it used to be. It's just blatant unsportsmanlike conduct (IMHO) to claim that the Strike you paid for simply disappears into the void simply because something gets blown up in the fighting.
I agree. The building was constructed out of the same pile of bricks which now form a huge heap in the same spot. Same target, only in different form. If you deflate a balloon, does that stop it being a balloon just because the air is no longer in it? Similarly, a piece of terrain is just that - it is something on a base whih is placed on the table. If the rules require it to be altered in appearance following a certain effect being applied, then does that mean it is no longer a piece of terrain?
These folks maybe need to take a Wise Up pill.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"