Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I can arm my troops with a lasgun and a close combat weapon.
Page 40 of the rules say my troops get an additional attack when charging if they have two one handed weapons. A lasgun is a two handed weapon, so my troops don't get an additional attack.
So what is the point of arming normal imperial guard troops with lasguns and cc-weapons? Is there something I missed?
Heya DGWD, I think I understand your question here. Let me take a stab at it.
BUT in the case of certain characters like sargents and such, they have the same ol'cc weapon but have a las pistol/bolt pistol etc, which COUNTS as an additional CC weapon when they need it to.
So, in your case, in case you are talking about modelling your guardsmen with extra weapons does not give them any benefit in close combat.
Hope this helps.
W/D/L Eleventy trillion billion/NONE/ NONE - I am STILL rulezor!
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!
So your saying that, if you don't have two one-handed weapons then you don't get the bonus attack for charging?
When life gives you anything, charge it with Genestealers.
Alarm clock? Genestealers.
Your boss? Genestealers.
The rednecks that cut in front of me at Wal-mart like I didn't have anything better to do than stand in line? Genestealers.
In the original question, when you say 'arm your troops' do you mean armylist-wise or model-wise.
Model wise you can slap knives and bayonets all over guardsmen (and marines) but get no bonus for it. Most troops are assumed to have some sort of cc weapon available be it bayonet, combat knife, butt of lasgun, rusty pipe or sharp claws.
Armylist-wise, you'll have options of 'extra' cc weapon in some instances. Usually not front-line guardsmen though, with the exception of the sergeants.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
What I meant was that my model has a tiny dagger on it. It makes it look cool.
I also have the option to spend 1 point per model (according to p. 34 of the codex) to give a model a cc weapon in game... and that cc weapon only has an function in game if the model (with access to the armoury) has another single handed weapon, not a lasgun.
Now I get my mistake and your confusion: I read "close combat weapon" in the armoury and figured I could or needed to buy it for the normal guard models that came with a knive or bayonet. That's not the case, I see now.
So the daggers on the models are only there for the looks: I don't need to spend the point and even models without it can fight in close combat normally, clubbing with their lasguns or kicking with their boots or whatever.
Sorry there, I'm still learning...
Charging is a different issue and has nothing to do with 2 or 1 handed weapons.
You get the charge bonus by virtue of “charging” or being first into combat.
Models can normally carry a 2 handed weapon and a one handed weapon but it has to have the permission to take extra weapons.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
LO RulesOriginally Posted by AnonymousOriginally Posted by Cyric
Everything you have been told is a lie!