Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
1， One of my friend said：Castellan Missile may played as “ if one of the member of a squad has covered by the missile`s range, the it can hurt all the member of a squad”
Means even if there are only two model has been covered of a ten men squad, he can also do a 4+ hit and wound for ten time … is that possible?
2， Can Castellan Missile shot to a place that will cover his own unit？
( If “yes”, it will hard to charge a unit like that. )
Considering I use 3 of these whirlwinds a lot to pretty much screw up my opponents movement, plus it's the excellent Eldar killer!
Anyway the answer is NO it clearly says in the codex that any 'miniature' that walks over it take the hit on a 4+. So if 3 out of 10 miniatures from a squad walk over the placed minefield template those 3 take the hits not the whole squad.
Your marines can sit down, have a picnic, dance merrilly around the maypole while allied castellans smash into the ground around them. However, ordnance barrage rules forbid you to target a barrage in such a way that the template is over a friendly
The castellan fortunately, can be shot into any empty space in its range, or any enemy target (thus leading into the eternal harlequin vs castellan debates).
They are effective at assisting with first round charges, although its impotant to note the general concensus on 'move through' only applies to actual movement in the movement phase, consolidation or sweeping advances and not pile-in moves.
Overlapping castellan effects, additionally, are traditionally held to stack in the place arond their overlap, so become familiar with ven diagrams.
Castellan mines also ARE NOT EXPENDED when walked across by an enemy. They operate as a minefield. So unless the enemy is an ork with grotz, he can't 'run sheep across the minefield.'
Also, so I don't forget...and so you don't forget...
Castellans hit EVERYBODY. Jump troops (even when moving as jump infantry), skimmers, vehicle, infantry, walkers, etc. And vehicles are always hit automatically on the rear armor. Despite the illogical insanity of it all, they probably technically hit flyers too (at least RAW-wise) as Apocalypse seems to give no defense to flyers regarding passage 'through' minefields.
Anima Tactics - try it out!
anther question ....
How long can a castellan missile stay in the ground?
While a castellan has bomb any model, and disappear?
Or even if it had bomb someone, and can still stay in ground waiting for other enemy?
If I'm sure as to what you're asking:
A Castellan Missile stays on the table (in the ground) for the length of the game. It is not removed after it blows up a model.
I think what is being asked is "Does the mine-field created by the Castellan missile remain in play after causing hits on a unit, or for that matter after the turn it is created?"
The answer is yes, it remains in play. If you meant the other thing then the answer's 'Scarlet'.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
One small exception, like any other minefield, it can be destroyed by an ork player running his grotz over it.