Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Lets say my eldar grav-tank is hiding behind a wall big enough to cover my entire model.
Now how does LOS work?
Do I declare that he's landed or can I can fly lower to terrain?
Or can my opponent hit me regardless since it is flying above the ground?
Last edited by Warp; November 6th, 2007 at 22:13.
The skimmer is wherever the model physically resides in real space. A skimmer cannot be declared to be flying at some arbitrary height to see over adjacent terrain. If it ends its move behind the wall and not on top of the wall, no shooty over the wall from either side.
Of course in the interest of protecting one's carefully built and painted models, it is normally acceptable to use just a base or dice or something to mark the location of a skimmer atop a less than robust terrain piece and set the tank below.
The only exception is area terrain where the skimmer can be considered 'above' in an abstract way. It still however must actually end its move above the terrain piece. It can't end outside/behind the piece and declare itself to be flying high enough to see over. It skims, not flies =).
So that means when I deployed my falcon Grav-Tanks behind a sturdy wall covering my whole model, the guy was not suppose to be able to hit me even though it CLEARLY did not have a line of sight?
This is correct, if you were out of line of sight, behind a wall. He can't make you fly higher.
This question is not so easily answered.
First, it is important to know if the piece of terrain was classified as 'area terrain' or not. If you are using 'area terrain' then the terrain piece is considered to be infinitly high, unless the model is physically on top of it. So if you had 'area terrain' then by your description, No, he could not see you.
If however you are NOT using area terrain, then models eye view is used, and you have to physically bend down and check the LOS from the model.
If the wall is just a free standing structure that's not part of a bigger piece of terrain classed as 'area' then the normal expectation would be to use true model's line of sight for it.
it was like a broken building.
my tanks were on the inside of it where the wall physically made it impossible to see both from models perspective AND the walls height was greater sized then my grav-tank.
On the second floor of this ruin, I had sniper squads on the rooftop.
Now the struture IS broken, but the broken wall is STILL large enough to cover my model completely.
Maybe that will give a better insight?
You got cheated. He should not have been able to shoot you.
Turtles For the Turtle God!
Shells For the Shell Throne!
The question can be cleared up thus:
for skimmers and LOS/terrain, you ignore the fact that they are skimmer except for 2 things:
1. Skimmers not blocking LOS, which is a mute point in this case since you are not hiding one tank behind another
2. Skimmers can end their move on top (over terrain) - again this is not the case, hence the fact your tank is skimmer has no bearing on the question whatsoever
So you were cheated
Everything you have been told is a lie!