Skimmers and Target Priority - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Ancient Spacefarer Kai-Itza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,708
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    211 (x6)

    Skimmers and Target Priority

    I've encountered this queory where it says very little in the Rulebook.

    say I've got a Tau Squad disembarked from a Devilfish, when it reaches my opponent's turn. she wanted to shoot at the Fire Warriors behind the 'Fish. at that time i thought that there would be no TP test due to firing through the 'Fish because of it's high AV.

    so here's my Question:

    Does a Squad have to take a TP test to shoot at the Enemy Squad behind it?

    any help will be appreciated

    -Kai-Itza-


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO LordLink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Australian. Capital. Territory
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    228 (x8)

    Yes it does, this is a common tactic for both eldar and tau.

    Remember you even have to take a target priority test if you were trying to shoot past the devilfish at another vehicle.
    Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!

    If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.

    Fluffmaster
    Anzac Clan

  4. #3
    Senior Member Sinjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    New York
    Age
    43
    Posts
    823
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    Yes, a target priority test must be taken.

    This is a very common mistake made. You can declare you're shooting at "large targets" which allows you to ignore any small targets for target priority, but you can never ignore large targets. This is of course stupid if the squad has no tank busting weapons, so in my group we don't require this if the squad has no weapons which can not at least glance the vehicle, but this is definitely a gentleman's rule, not the rule in the book.

  5. #4
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    If you check out the last sentence of the paragraph which deals with "Firing at Large Targets", you'll find the rule there. You can't ignore a large target in order to shoot a smaller one further away.

    As usual, GW hides their rules rather well!

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts