Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Had a confusing situation come up where my friend's seraphim decide to hit in run out of cc, but he rolled bad enough on the distance that i was able to consolidate back into combat with him.
How does the order of operation work in this case? Does he first hit and run then I consolidate, consolidate then hit and run or am i not allowed to get back into cc with the seraphim?
The consolidation move happens after the hit & run is complete as per 'they may consolidate normally.' If the seraphim don't get 3" away you can re-lock them similarly to a fleeing unit that doesn't get 3" away.
If the question is, can they simply hit&run away again, no. The hit&run happens 'at the end of the assault phase.' The end of the assault phase is a singular point in time so actions associated with it can only happen once. The fact that the special rule triggers an out-of-sequence consolidation move does not cause you to re-enter the assault phase or start a new assault phase such that there can be a new 'end of the phase' point in time for taking actions. Also a good argument against people who try to hit&run away when you consolidate into them.
Your friend just got unlucky.
The unit that you Hit and Run out of gets to consolidate, and they can't consolidate before the Hit and Run, because they are still engaged.
Oops, I was wrong it seems. Back to the Codex for me.
also, a hit and run may only be done when you are engaged, and if you get consolidated into you are only locked until next assault phase (or is it the other way round?)
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
Dirty Xeno Space Elves do not use Hit & Run, they have their own similar rule with its own name. I don't recall if anything is substantially different other than that it can be conferred on an IC who lacks the rule, unlike 'real' Hit & Run.
edit: Actually now that I think about it I think it requires the Xeno lover to designate a direction before rolling, unlike H&R.