Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a model take a two handed weapon and a one handed weapon and choose which one to use or does it have to stick to one two hander or two one handers?
thanks in advance Ondurin
If a thousand monkeys worked a thousand typewriters for a thousand years, we might get some rules without mistakes!
Well, the way it used to work was that a model could have two weapons, one of which could be two-handed. So, a model could have a bolter(2h) and a plasma pistol(1h), or a bolt pistol(1h) and a power weapon(1h), but not a bolter(2h) and an eviscerator(2h). Certain codices (DH, for instance) contain this restriction in the text above the armory page. Recent codices (most notably Codex: Chaos Space Marines) have broken from this 'rule' for certain models. Standard Chaos Space Marines, for instance, have a bolter, a bolt pistol, and a close combat weapon.
So the bottom line is to look in your codex for restrictions (not sure who you play). If none exist, then there's no limit.
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!
all codices allow you to take a one handed weapon and a two handed weapon.
but as hasten said, some allow you to take more
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
I assume that you actually mean “Can a model take, from the armoury, a 2 handed weapon and a one handed weapon?”
The default answer is “Yes” and as the others have said, check further with the relevant Codex for any restrictions.
The choice of which one to use on a particular turn is up to you. You have choice.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
You may choose which weapons you are attacking with each round of combat, but unless you have a special rule that says otherwise, all attacks in one round MUST be made with the same weapon.
Example-some codex allow you to take a two handed weapon AND 2 one handed weapons. For the sake of an example to the above, a farseer with a singing spear (two handed weapon), a powerfist (I know, he can't take it, but it is an example) and a power weapon (again, not a legal choice, just an example here) decides to get into the fray with some space marines. Lets assume his normal init is 6, strength of 3, and he has 2 base attacks.
First round of combat, he can make 2 attacks with the singing spear at init 6, following the special rules for the SS, or he can make 3 attacks with the powerweapon at init 6 and ignoring armour saves (2 base attacks and +1 for having 2 CCW), or he may choose to make 3 attacks at init 1 with the powerfist, thus using double his strength and ignoring armour saves.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)