Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My question is:
Can I give my soldiers drop troops doctrine and use it only in reference to Command Squads in my Platoons?
There are 2 statements in my codex:
- drop troops doctrine refers to any GUARD INFANTRY UNIT
...on the other hand...
- (hq/infantry) platoon counts as a SINGLE UNIT for the purposes of reserves (but sub-units can deploy and operate independtly)
does it mean that during the deployment phase I should point out (at the same time) which 'parts of my platoon' deep strike and which do not
I'm obliged to choose between deep striking all/none of them
I'm waiting for your quick reply. This matter is very important to me because of a league I want to take part in.
Thanx in advance.
You can choose which squads deep strike as you see fit, some games all might drop, some games none, a lot of games just the suicide vets. You can choose which squads use the doctrine to deep strike.
Veni Vidi Variant
I came, I saw, I got a different type of Leman Russ.
The spikey ones go faster.
98% of the teen population has smoked weed, the other 2% went straight to crack.
Saga of the Ages. Click it.
Rules for grenades are on page 72 of the rulebook.
It says that the whole command platoon counts as a single unit for deployment purposes, so It's all or nothing I'm afraid.
The same idea is reflected in the Command Platoon entry; each sub-unit may deploy or arrive in a different location and act dependently. So long as you decide who is Deepstriking and who is being deployed normally, you should be good.
Sorry, my bad. To clarify; you're saying that declaring a squad is deep striking counts as deploying it? I didn't think they were 'deployed' until the models were on the table, so to speak.