Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Simple Question can a farseer uses a Physic Powers while in a vechile and if not why?
As I understand Physic powers are subject to the normal shooting rules (LOS, Range etc), under normal shooting rules u can shoot out of a vehicle. So why cant a Physic power that Satisfies all the normal shooting rules, use it while in a vehicle?
If the psychic power requires line of sight, he can't use it in a vehicle. He can't use fire points because fire points are specifically for shooting weapons.
There may be some powers which don't need LOS, in which case yes, he can. I would assume.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
For Eldar, no. Other armies; depends on the transport.
No Eldar psyker would be able to ever use a psychic power while being transported. Models are considered 'off the table' while being transported, so can not use powers, weapons, or abilities unless otherwise stated. In the case of Eldar psykers, it is not otherwise stated.
Fire points change that rule slightly, and designate a number of models that may fire from out of the vehicle. That is why some armies can pull off powers from a vehicle (like a Librarian riding in a Rhino), and some may not.
Open-Topped vehicles fall under this category as well, since they're sort of like one big fire point.
Eldar vehicles neither have Fire Points nor are open-topped, so the easy answer is - "No."
Why does a unit in a transport count as not on the table ? Were is the rule that states that ?
I really think this FAQ makes no sense for Eldars, as it seems to ignore all their relevant psy powers specificities :
1. Fortune and Guide should be allowed on the unit in the same transport as the Farseer
2. Doom specifically does not require line of sight, so what's the point about the lack of firing points ? The fact that it is not used during the shooting phase ? Then...
3. ... what about Eldritch Storm ? It does replace shooting, and does not require line of sight.
Sorry for bitching on that subject again...
Now, another question : does the FAQ mean that the Rites of Battle of a SM Commander have no effect if the Commander is inside a vehicle ? And what if the vehicle (say, Rhino) opens its top ?
Children of Isha
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Making sense in a particular context is not a prerequisite for being a rule! The game is abstract and therefore sometimes arbitrary. Why does the mighty hero conqueror of worlds slayer of 1,000 orks turn tail and hoof it off the battle field if he happens to be leading one diddly trooper who gets spooked, but turn around and fight again if there aren't any grunts around?
If the model is not physically present on the table, then no rules that do not provide an explicit exception for being used from inside a vehicle or in reserve can be used. No psychic powers, no rites of battle, etc. It does provide a level of balance to certain abilities, if not 'realism' in all cases. Is it something frequently altered via house rule or consensus? I'd think so, yes.
InquisitorAffe makes a good point regarding game balance. Falcons are nasty enough as-is. Do we really want a Farseer sitting inside Dooming/Eldritch Storming everything in sight? Or rather, Dooming and Eldritch Storming everything not in sight.
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!