Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I know (i think) that when you use a flame, place down the template and any models under it or partially are hit on a roll of 4+. and thats the end of the sentence.
Does this mean that there are no saving throws or what?
Everytime i play, since its only with n00bs like me, we pretty much go one way each time and it can change the game.
The same applies with blast weapons, it basically has the same sentence as the flamer but again, doesn't cover saving throws.
Can anyone help me? I'm sorry for repeating the rules out but I wanted to know if I'm doing any of it right?
For the blast templates, generally everything completely under the template is hit, and partially covered models are hit on a roll of 4+. Armor saves are once again allowed.
Hope this helps.
To expand from what Tekore said, the important part for deciding whether or not the models hit and wounded get an Armour save is the Armour Piercing value of the weapon, or any special rules listed for the weapon (such as Rending). See 4tHEd page 24, right column, "Armour Piercing Weapons" for more information.
Just keep reading the main rules and Codices and you will eventually get it.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
so the progression is
you automatically hit. This is where the specialty of hte flamer ends
you then roll to wound as normal
and save as normal
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
Example: Bob has a 3+ armor save and is hit by an AP 3 (or 2, or 1) weapon. His armor save is ignored.
Example: Bob has 3+ armor save and is hit by an AP 4 weapon. He gets his armor save as normal.
Example: Bob the Chaplain has a 3+ armor save and a 4+ invulnerable save. He is hit by an AP 3 weapon. His 3+ armor save is ignored, but he is allowed his 4+ invulnerable save (it never goes away).
No i know how that worked, i get armour PIERCING its just that it said NOTHING in regards to the saving throw, thats all i wanted to know, i know how both guns work, and hit, or miss and wound, but there was no mention of "unit gets a saving throw/no saving throws allowed" so i was unclear for that reason alone.
you guys prove more than helpful
Flamer templates do have one caveat with saves and that is the model does not get a cover save. So with marines, the standard issue flamer does not deny armour saves so any marines wounded by this get their saves. However, the heavy flamer (and I believe the regular flamer, but I'm not sure) deny IG their armour save. So if an IG gets wounded by the heavy flamer they do not get a cover save (due to template special rules) or an armour save (due to AP). And since the standard issue IG does not have an Inv save they immediately die. No save, no passing go, no collecting $200.
I love drop poding a heavy flamer dreadnought on an IG line.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
Yeah the poor ig soldeirs never stood a chance.