Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
so as most of you may know the tyranid broodlord is considerd a IC but can have a retinue of 5 - 11 genestealers.
now the genestealers have fleet of claw but the broodlord doesn't SO the unit doesn't get fleet
so situation check
i infiltrate my broodlord and genestealers 12 inch from the enemy.
during movement the broodlord moves 6 inch left and the genestealers 6 inch away from the broodlord.
now during this the broodlord left his retinue. so does this mean the genestealers regain their fleet ?
Hive Fleet Lucanus : 2000 points
His retinue may not leave him or vice versa. The genestealers may only fleet if the broodlord dies.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I believe that an independent character can never leave their retinue, so this is not possible.
Primary Army: Tyranids; Secondary Army: Space Wolves
It's Illeagle, but it' s not that illeagle. - John Public
The Broodlord is indeed a strange IC : he has a mandatory retinue, simply due to the way his brood is defined ("One Genestealer Alpha and a retinue of 5 to 11 Genestealers"). You could almost wonder whether it is intentional or not !
My knowledge of WH40k is not encyclopedic : is there any other IC that MUST have a retinue ?
Yep, no leaving a Retinue you bought. Okay, technically you might be able to, but most people agree that this shouldn't be allowed and thus ICs are stuck with with their retinue.
Now, if you really, really want to Fleet, deploy them out of LOS, as close as possible and in such a manner that the Broodlord is very easy to get into LOS while most of the retinue would stay out of LOS. Enemy shoots, the BL is hopefully the only model that can legally take the wounds and voila! One dead BL and a brood of 'Stealers just itching to Fleet and engage their enemy next turn! 8Y
And yeah, best to keep the BL plain... Don't want to spend any more points than you have to.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
Its really a fairness issue that the broodlord can't fleet with his retinue. He is afterall already infiltrating the sods (think of it as trading fleet for a one-time 24 inch movement). It would essentially let you set up on top of your foe, then blaze into him on your turn. A first turn charge with half a dozen genestealers and a unit who is a monstrous creature in everything but name.
Even a ctan ain't going to be appreciating that.
I'm not sure if you can buy scuttlers for him, start him 18 inches exactly from your chosen prey, and the other but that might help your movement issue (but you sure as hell better win first round).