Sponson Mounted - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Sponson Mounted

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Age
    28
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Sponson Mounted

    What does sponson mounted weapons mean? Such as on the Land Raider it has two sponson mounted lascannons.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    It simply means attached to the sides. It seems with every passing iteration of Codexes they get less and less specific about these things. In some of the latest they don't even indicate a mounting at all and just list the weapons. This raises ridiculous questions like 'can I put both sets of lascannons on the same side of my landraider.' There isn't really much to stop you other than the social consequences of having such a thick beard.

    A common convention (also used by Adepticon), though by no means an official rule, is to use 'model as provided.' That is, in the case of vehicle conversions, the other player can ask you to draw lines of sight, ranges, etc based on the official GW model as assembled by the instructions in the box. It's a bit of insurance against the prospect that someone would actually build a Vindicator with a 10" barrel and not just crack jokes about it to highlight the silliness of the FAQ =).

  4. #3
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by csm4life View Post
    What does sponson mounted weapons mean? Such as on the Land Raider it has two sponson mounted lascannons.
    Hi,
    That’s a very good question!
    To me it’s a weapon that has its arc of fire blocked partially by the vehicle it is mounted on. The vehicle of course blocks line of sight for part of its transverse.

    So a sponson is impossible on a Skimmer within the current rules because they don’t block LOS ever ( just my opinion here guys) but on a “solid” vehicle that does block LOS the classical use for them is on the sides of Tanks, and this is just a variation of theme for its weaponary.

    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  5. #4
    Junior Member Heritics Command's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    25
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    look at a land raider. see the lascannons on the side. they are mounted IN sponsons. sponsons are basically weapon housings built onto the side of a vehicle to give it a) more weapons and b) if it only has a hull mounted weapon, i wider firing arc.
    Come to Heresy Online, always a good time and a friendy bunch and no flames in sight (except on the awesome models) - http://www.heresy-online.net/forums/register.php?referrerid=188

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts