Massacre! - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Massacre!

  1. #1
    Festo Diata TwoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    85 (x2)

    Massacre!

    If a unit consolidates due to the Massacre! rule, it moves D6" instead of the normal 3"...

    Verbatim from the rule book. Consolidate says "up to 3" ". Massacre says nothing like that. Does a unit that Massacres have to move the entire distance (namely Black Templars, moving due to a Zeal move)?

    Thanks
    2H

    2H - LEGIO HYDRA

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Painting Machine! Tekore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tale of Painterville
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,668
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    542 (x8)

    I would be inclined towards a full movement, not an "up to" movement, due to the lack of the "up to" in the wording. I like to think of it as a rushing, stumbling and stabbing rush as one unit overruns the other.

    Tekore

  4. #3
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    The book says that they *move* D6". Not "up to..." as we find for example in the description of movement in the Movement Phase. It's a set distance, similar to the situation with the Fall Back move.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  5. #4
    Nightlord frozencore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,795
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    255 (x6)

    You must move the exact distance rolled, no more no less.

  6. #5
    Member Zealous Templar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Berwick, Australia
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Mmm...well it does say that a Massacre! result moves D6" instead of the 3" with consolidation and well the way I see it, you would just substitute the D6" in place of the 3". So it becomes up to D6".

    That's just my view on it...been discussed ALMOST to death on the B&C in the BT section...
    "But courage which goes against military expediency is stupidity..."

  7. #6
    Tomb King medic_4077's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Age
    45
    Posts
    671
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    42 (x2)

    We play it up to d6" and I don't think there's any other way to interpret it.

    The problem with trying to enforce moving the exact number rolled is that the wording does not restrict the direction. For example it does not say "in a straight line" or "directly towards the nearest enemy unit" or anything like that. I can think of plenty of times when a 6" consolidate was used to move 4" one direction and 2" in another to get behind a building. If you can do that then you can use it to move in a 360 degree circle and end up where you started or any combination of curves to end up where ever you like.
    The wording for a massacre move is not as explicit as say the skimmer moving fast rule and so we let everyone move as little or as much of that d6 as they like.
    War Record Since Sept 2005
    Old Codex 48-20-9 Dark Eldar
    New Codex 1-0-0 Dark Eldar

  8. #7
    Fun guy from Yuggoth Moglun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Age
    33
    Posts
    772
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by medic_4077 View Post
    We play it up to d6" and I don't think there's any other way to interpret it.

    The problem with trying to enforce moving the exact number rolled is that the wording does not restrict the direction. For example it does not say "in a straight line" or "directly towards the nearest enemy unit" or anything like that. I can think of plenty of times when a 6" consolidate was used to move 4" one direction and 2" in another to get behind a building. If you can do that then you can use it to move in a 360 degree circle and end up where you started or any combination of curves to end up where ever you like.
    The wording for a massacre move is not as explicit as say the skimmer moving fast rule and so we let everyone move as little or as much of that d6 as they like.
    I was undecided on this issue until now, but you make a very good point.
    Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.

  9. #8
    Son of LO darkreever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NJ, U.S.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    5,129
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    186 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by medic_4077 View Post
    For example it does not say "in a straight line" or "directly towards the nearest enemy unit" or anything like that.
    I don't have my rulebook here with me, so maybe someone with it can check, but I thought the massacre movement actually specified that the d6" was towards the nearest enemy unit?

    Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.

    "The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
    Member of the Fluff Masters Clan

  10. #9
    Fun guy from Yuggoth Moglun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Age
    33
    Posts
    772
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by darkreever View Post
    I don't have my rulebook here with me, so maybe someone with it can check, but I thought the massacre movement actually specified that the d6" was towards the nearest enemy unit?
    Nope. "In any direction", p.44 under Consolidation.
    Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.

  11. #10
    Dark Eldar Gerbil Splata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    159 (x5)

    this would cause big problems with moving int another unit after an assault. How do the people who say all d6" do this as an exact messure is basically impossible to move into combat?
    Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
    Dear Game Developer,
    Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
    Signed Scissors.

    WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=149386

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts