Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Someone in another forum was making an argument that necrons who have the wbb rule are never removed off the table and can be brought back to life later on in the game. We all know that if a necron gets killed by something with 2x its toughness or it got no armour save it dies. However, it also doesn't get a wbb roll if there is no other of the same troop within six inches.
The argument was that if a squad of 10 warriors dies due to bolter fire but are not within 6 inches of another warrior it doesn't get its wbb rolls but it is not removed off the table and if on the next turn a warrior is moved within 6 inches of the "dead" warriors they than get their wbb rolls.
Is that right? I thought if they don't make their wbb rolls next turn they are destroyed and removed off the table. However, I can't find any hard evidence for this?
This came up at the Baltimore GT last month. You remove models if they don't get to make a roll because there are no units close enough to allow it. I don't have my rule book with me, but they pointed out a sentence that they used as justification. The sentence makes as good a case on their side as the arguments I have heard on the Internet. In any case, the basic idea was that by reading the rules on WBB, it was INTENDED that a model be removed if it did not get a roll.
Next time you play Necrons, make sure the player follows the WBB rules as written. You check each MODEL to see if it is within 6 inches of a standing model to be eligible for WBB. Just because one model in the unit is within 6 inches the whole downed unit does not get WBB roles.
Yes, I play Necrons.
This has come up before and I have heard both sides of it.
My question to you njfed is where you there when this came up and was ruled the way it was?
This was confirmed by a letter sent to me in reply to just such a question by Andy Hoare. His words are as follows:
"Many thanks for your letter regarding the Necron Resurrection Orb - please accept my apologies for the time I have taken to reply.
I think the issue is less with the Orb, and more to do with a general principle in use in many of our games. This is the notion that a rule has an effect on a "unit in range". It is a general principle that the whole unit is in range if one or more of its models are within the range of the item giving rise to the rule, and furthermore that all the models in the unit will be affected. As you point out, this may occasionally give rise to oddities whereby a squad arranged in a long line can stretch an effect across a wide area, but we have found this actually happens fairly rarely, and is simpler and far preferable to any alternative.
Obviously we will need to consider stating this more explicitly in future editions of the games.
Once again, many thanks for writing to us, and I hope this answer helps you out.
Scrivener Andy Hoare,
Games Workshop Design Studio."
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
If you check the Necron Forum, thre is a pretty long thread regarding this. Ive played Crons for 4 years, but until recently id held a huge misconception of the WBB rule. Basically:
The only way a model with the necron rule can be removed from the table is by failing a WBB roll, or by being disallowed a WBB roll due to 2xS or no save weapons (ResOrb effects are taken immidiately)
Basically in the examply you gave, 10 Warriors die to bolter fire, but no other warriors are close by. In that case, all the downed warriors will remain on the table until they either get a chance to make a WBB roll, or until the game ends.
I'm always open to discussion, but I'm not one to push the issue. I feel WBB should be replaced with FNP anyway.
Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007
Also Kore, iirc the IF declares whether or not the Cron can make a WBB. They still remein on the table (as decided in the last thread) unil they get a Chance at WBB unless denied it by the lack of a ResOrb.
It would help a lot if i had my Dex on me though...
Last edited by Phoenix; December 5th, 2007 at 13:18.
I dont think for one second GW intended dead crons to stay on the table until they fail a WBB, I am 100% sure they intended that if the crons are not eligable for WBB, they are removed, I think this is further supported by Qand A on eligability I have seen where the designers said for ease of reference, a cron is elligable for WBB at the time he is taken down (I think it specifically refered to res orbs actually, eg a squad of warriors with a lord with orb, gets layed into by las cannons, the warriors go down, subsequent combat and shooting puts down the lord but the warriors still get WBB becuase at the point where they died, they were wihtin res orb range)
However, I agree that you can interpret the rules to permit the "stays on until failed WBB" approach
I owuld be shocked if you can get away with it in a GW tournement though
Everything you have been told is a lie!
In regards to my comment about the ruling at the Baltimore GT. Yes, I was there when the ruling was explained. My friends and I wanted to get an official ruling for the tournament because we had read about this stuff on the forums and one of my friends was playing Necrons. Another message above has the wording of the rule...
> "may self-repair" if they meet the criteria (6" rule). It "only works" if they meet the criteria. Thus, if they do not meet the criteria, the self-repair ability doesn't apply and the model is removed.
The word they keyed in on was 'only'. So for that day and that tournament, Necrons models had to be removed at the start of the turn if they were not able to make a WBB roll. Now this is about as official as the above post of a letter from GW. Not that i am questioning the authenticity of the letter. You could just as simply question my story. The issue is that GW has not posted an official response so we have to work with unofficial and second hand rulings.
Hmm, slap me around if my memory for 'Crons is off. If I recall, models that are down waiting for a WBB roll don't trigger a phase out. That is, if I shoot you down below 25%, you still have a chance at the beginning of your next turn to see if enough of them get back up to keep you in the game. So if a Cron who's down but not out doesn't trigger phase out... Are we saying that a Necron player can essentially make it impossible to phase out his army if an enough models get killed and he simply leaves them there for the rest of the game? 'Haha as long as I don't accidentally walk within 6" of that pile of bodies it's impossible to get phase out' ? I'd say that absurdity is a pretty strong argument against the 'perpetual corpse' approach.