Rapid fire plasma guns and obliterators. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Rapid fire plasma guns and obliterators.

    So when you rapid fire a plasma gun with an obliterator and it's twin linked does that mean when you initially hit a one you have to save a wound or if it's only when the second roll comes up one that you take the hit?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    36
    Posts
    555
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    76 (x2)

    Twin linked plasma, according to my limited understanding, allows you to reroll your to hit roll on a miss.

    As a 1 is a miss, you reroll it, and you have to take the new result. So no, the initial 1 doesn't count. If it comes up as a 1 again (or a 1-2 on a double tap) you do have to roll against plasma's 'get ye crispy!' effect.

    Similarly, and counter-intuitively, a sergeant/IC/aspiring champion with two plasma pistols is less likely to fry himself then one with only one.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by Spook2k5 View Post
    Similarly, and counter-intuitively, a sergeant/IC/aspiring champion with two plasma pistols is less likely to fry himself then one with only one.
    How do you figure? Having two of the same weapon does not make them twin-linked unless a rule specific to the unit / army indicates that's how it works (tyranids & wraithlords, most notably).

  5. #4
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Spook2k5 View Post
    Similarly, and counter-intuitively, a sergeant/IC/aspiring champion with two plasma pistols is less likely to fry himself then one with only one.
    As a fairly general rule, you can't fire two weapons anyway (two of the same only becomes twin-linked in certain instances). And if they could, if they didn't become twin-linked it would be mighty risky .


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    36
    Posts
    555
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    76 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Rork View Post
    As a fairly general rule, you can't fire two weapons anyway (two of the same only becomes twin-linked in certain instances). And if they could, if they didn't become twin-linked it would be mighty risky .
    Truly? Heh. Someone tried to convince me that if you bought two one-handed ranged weapons they became twin linked, ala the seraphim, and the tyranids.

    Once again my faith in the sensible nature of 40k rules is reassured.

    This pleasant feeling ranks up with when someone told me that castellan mines can't affect flyers.

  7. #6
    Fun guy from Yuggoth Moglun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Age
    33
    Posts
    772
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x4)

    As already indicated, the reroll causes you to ignore the initial roll - you only have to make the save if the final result is an overheat. Works the same way for all rerolls (mastercrafted, for example). But you should keep in mind that the reroll might cause an overheat when you didn't initially have one. For instance, you have BS 3, take one shot, and roll a 3 - a miss. You reroll and get a 1, which causes an overheat to your unfortunate model.

    You might be able to choose not to reroll with that in mind - but I'm not sure.
    Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.

  8. #7
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Moglun View Post
    As already indicated, the reroll causes you to ignore the initial roll - you only have to make the save if the final result is an overheat. Works the same way for all rerolls (mastercrafted, for example). But you should keep in mind that the reroll might cause an overheat when you didn't initially have one. For instance, you have BS 3, take one shot, and roll a 3 - a miss. You reroll and get a 1, which causes an overheat to your unfortunate model.

    You might be able to choose not to reroll with that in mind - but I'm not sure.
    The "Re-roll" is an allowance that is not compulsary in any way. Page 5 BGB.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  9. #8
    Dark Eldar Gerbil Splata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    159 (x5)

    p24 twin linked weapons - states may re-roll.
    Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
    Dear Game Developer,
    Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
    Signed Scissors.

    WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=149386

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts