Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
hi sorry if this is located elsewhere but i have searched with no success of what im looking for. so i appologise if ive over looked it!
when a unit is in assault by more than one enemy units how do you work out the winner?
Do you treat multiple enemy units as one unit and combine all attacks from each and then work out who has won. if this is true does the defending unit have to take multiple leadership tests (if it loses the combat) to represent the number of units it is up against or just one?
You count all the forces on both sides that are in the assault. So if you have one unit and are charged by 3 of your opponents units and one of his squads kills two, you kill one it doesn't matter what squad it is from he still wins combat. You also would have to take a leadership test for each unit in the assault if you had more than one.
What about if there are three forces in a combat? Like three different, unallied player's troops...
Total the wounds for each side, the person with the least is the winner and doesn't test for breaking. Both the other sides make a test for each unit. The one who suffered the most losses breaks first, the middle number breaks second. The winner may sweep or consolidate against either or both sides that lost. Ties are rolled off as normal. If any unit remains engaged with the winner, that unit(s) may not leave combat to sweep/consolidate. (we allow units on the winning side which become completely unengaged because the enemy ran to leave combat if they choose)
cheers for the help. it was just one of those things that cropped up in the game which brought about a debate. anyway looks as though i was correct.
So they could advance & overtake one fleeing foe, then a second?The winner may sweep or consolidate against either or both sides that lost
That's up to you, since these are all house rules anyway. However in play testing, allowing one enemy unit to sweep over more than one unit didn't seem to cause any problems. It was rare however. Since each breaking unit must flee back to their edge, and all the scenarios had each force starting on a different edge, units from two different armies fleeing combat never ended up together. In multiple unit combats, if all the loosers broke and the attacker had more than one unit in the combat (also rare), we allowed each unit to sweep in different directions (after separate armies) if they chose. We never let them change direction during a sweep, so the fleeing enemy would have to line up just right.
This was based on BBB rules for sweeping when more than one unit in a two sided combat fled. The victor, if lucky on the dice, could sweep far enough to grind over two or more units. However, the sweeper must maintain unit cohesion, sweep in a straight line, and remain within the fall back corridor (pg 71-72) So it was very hard to get two or more units in a large combat (even a two sided battle) to fall back down a corridor that would let the winning attack sweep both of them.
Also, it was rare that all the looser's units would break, so the attacker usually ended up stuck in combat for at least another turn, while the breaking unit made good it's escape. Having a dread support your assault was VERY useful, since they would stay and play while any breaking units got away.