Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was versing a Tau player who had unloaded a group of Fire Warriors out of a Tank placing them behind it. He then told me that they can shoot past their own tank because it is hovering and moved more then 6in and then told me I could not see them because the tank was in they way? Why does this happen, if they can see me I should be able to see them.
Skimmers do not block line of sight at all for either side (unless immobilised). The rules for skimmers do not specify that only your own side can see through them.
Your opponent has the rules wrong.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Stupid cheating Tau players and their stupid cheating ways.
<---- Tau Player
But seriously, the point of that tactic is that in order to assault the Firewarriors, you have to go around the Devilfish. It does not hinder you from shooting at them, however.
-Thread Killer Bryan
Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
MouseC added the only thing I would add. Namely, that infantry units still have to take a priority test to shoot past the skimmer itself, and of course must get around it to assault.
Your opponent was totally reaming you out.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
Yeah I thought something was fishy about that. because I had already immobilized one of his tanks and they were hiding behind him as well, but at least that made sense!!! So thanks I will have to point out to him that he cheesed me that game because they shot at me for 3 turns without me being able to fire back! I did still win though.
Next time it occurs, you could always walk him through the rulebook! I know that these points have already been made by the other respondents, but here are the page refs:
P.19 BGB, last 4 lines of "Firing at Large Targets". If he then argues that Large Targets can sometimes physically block LOS - as noted in the italicised paragraph under the picture at the bottom of P.19 - then point him to
P.20 BGB, 1st bullet point of "Line of Sight", last two lines.
Also, this "that they can shoot past their own tank because it is hovering and moved more then 6in" - Wha..? What on earth has a >6" move got to do with the unit shooting? ;?
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Just to add a minor detail here, LOS would be blocked if the Skimmer was a wreck (and by extension was no longer classed as a skimmer – Hmmm, was that just contradictory?)
Any way it could have gone down as –
1. Tau turn. The tank moves into position, troops disembarked and fired past the tank.
2. Your turn, you shoot the tank first and it becomes a wreck, thus blocking LOS so that you can’t shoot the troops behind.
This is a possibility but I assume that the game was not actually played that way.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
It's getting confusing in here, let me lay down:
- Devilfish dumps its FWs on one side, exposing side armour to the enemy.
- FWs fire with easy at enemy targets on the other side because of the skimmer rule.
- Enemy infantry must make target priority checks to shoot at the offending FWs.
- Enemy infantry must go around the Devilfish to charge the offending FWs.
- Skimmers that are immobilized/destroyed block LoS for everyone.
The above manuever can be performed by multiple Devilfish lining up head to tail, creating a wall of skimmers that FWs may fire beyond, a tactic called the the Fish-o-Fury (for the newbs).
Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007
All good and sound advice.
However, Kore, a FoF is performed with the front armor facing the enemy. You could do the side armor thing, but can you really fit 12 firewarriors within 2 inches of the door?
Anyway, a target priority is the most he can force.
He may have confused the Tau JSJ rule. He can jump back behind cover after shooting. But not behind a skimmer.
Turtles For the Turtle God!
Shells For the Shell Throne!