Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The otherday i was playing vs orks, he assaulted a squad of 13 warriors and a lord with 20 boys, an dreadnought and his warboss ( my shooting went so wrong.. sigh...).
He killed al of my warriors and only my lord was still alive.
now my question is, do i have to roll at -5 leadership cause my unit is under half strength or at -4 cause my unit is crushed by the horde of orks and so there is no more unit to be under half strength?
A word of warning. The next time you get a strange unexplained reading on your Flagship's scanner and sensor arrays, don't dismiss it as a glitch or ghost. The Necrons are a real threat now, and they are out there, biding their time, waiting for you!
The Necron Lord was attached right?
Assuming he was then the necron lord is considered unattached as soon as the squad is dead. Therefore he doesn't get the below 50% penalty.
If he wasn't attached then he tests seperately and doesn't get the negative anyway.
However I believe there was a rules-lawyering argument that no-one enforces in a game (one of THOSE arguments ;Y) where it was interpreted that a character doesn't unattach until you declare it during the movement phase, regardless of whether the squad is dead or not.
Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!
If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.
The he has to take a test because you lost the combat, he is outnumbered (at the maximum ratio), that is all that effects him
Everything you have been told is a lie!
Um, I think it actually says in the rulebook somewhere that the Lord tests as an independent character in close combat. He is not under half, so he doesn't take a penalty for that. He will take the outnumbered penalty and that is it.
For the purposes of morale checks (at least in melee), Independent Characters are indeed independent ... in fact, when you think about it as soon as CC begins they act as Indies, from the get-go (re: base-to-base rules, etc.).
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
As to the original poster, the BGB never really specifies when an IC reverts to being on his own, but I'd say just -4 and not -5... as the "Unit" is completely gone, not just under half.
Actually, I thought the BGB specifically refers to them taking morale tests separately in CC ... damnit for not having book in front of me.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
Not that anyone plays it that way, but it does solve the problem of when precisely does an IC leave a unit which has been wiped out in CC.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
Y'all need to keep up with your rulebook FAQs! =)
It specifically says that an IC is only separate for fighting and is considered part of the unit for morale tests and everything that comes after. (as nice as it would be to get two shots at sweeping advance...!)
Does it really cap at -4? For some reason unless my memory has gone whacky today I thought the rulebook says the outnumbering penalty continues to scale up ad infinitum.