can dreadnoughts walk away from close combats? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    can dreadnoughts walk away from close combats?

    The rules say infantry can break away from close combat with vehicles with no weapon skill and vehicles can break away from infantry.

    I know infantry cant break away from the dreadnought because it has a WS but can the dreadnought break away from infantry? It is a vehicle after all.

    Can dreadnoughts (walkers) shoot at one unit and assault another unit?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    Nope, p72, walkers fight in the same way as infantry. All rules that apply to a trooper apply to the walker. Unlike a normal vehicle, they do become 'locked' so cannot leave combat.

    No one can shoot one unit and then assault another without a special rule that says so.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    i guess it make sense thank.

    What if you killed the whole unit in the shooting phase...can you then assault another unit?

  5. #4
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    No. You *must* assault the unit you shot at. If you wipe out that unit with shooting, then you cannot assault anything else. This is why you should always be careful about how much firepower you apply against an enemy unit, as the end result could leave your own unit high and dry and in great danger of return fire/assault.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  6. #5
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by eiglepulper View Post
    No. You *must* assault the unit you shot at. If you wipe out that unit with shooting, then you cannot assault anything else. This is why you should always be careful about how much firepower you apply against an enemy unit, as the end result could leave your own unit high and dry and in great danger of return fire/assault.

    E.
    Agreed, you do have the choice "not" to shoot with any of your individual models (page 18 BG and herein lies some of the tactics involved in 40K.

    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  7. #6
    Ancient Spacefarer Kai-Itza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,707
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    211 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by shadowking01 View Post
    Can dreadnoughts (walkers) shoot at one unit and assault another unit?
    Like everyone else I will agree with the others on this one, the answer is definitely no.

    Dreadnaughts are treated as infantry but with an Armour Value that can still get locked in combat. Think about it, if you were a two thousand year old with untold victories and battles under your belt, you will find that walking away from CC is a little unwise and is dishonourable by turning your back to them. Only to be shot at

    At least your Dreaddie will be safe from heavy weaponry! ;Y

    -Kai-Itza-

  8. #7
    Senior Member KhlauKolash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    salt lake
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by shadowking01 View Post
    The rules say infantry can break away from close combat with vehicles with no weapon skill and vehicles can break away from infantry.

    I know infantry cant break away from the dreadnought because it has a WS but can the dreadnought break away from infantry? It is a vehicle after all.

    Can dreadnoughts (walkers) shoot at one unit and assault another unit?
    as stated by others, the answer is no, the clincher is that walkers HAVE a WS and so get locked up regardless as to who assaulted who. The difference is that walkers tend to survive close combat better than infantry due to having armor value of 10+. Plus, to get hit with a grenade requires a lucky dice roll.

    One thing to also keep in mind is that walkers CAN get overwhelmed by numerous combatants and cna take wounds by simply being outnumbered.
    Last edited by KhlauKolash; January 29th, 2008 at 00:02. Reason: forgot a point

  9. #8
    Ender of Threads Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    256 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by KhlauKolash View Post
    as stated by others, the answer is no, the clincher is that walkers HAVE a WS and so get locked up regardless as to who assaulted who. The difference is that walkers tend to survive close combat better than infantry due to having armor value of 10+. Plus, to get hit with a grenade requires a lucky dice roll.

    One thing to also keep in mind is that walkers CAN get overwhelmed by numerous combatants and cna take wounds by simply being outnumbered.
    Yeah, Dreads tend to have it easy in combat - most troops are helpless and easily squashed, while the Dread is nearly invincible. End result? The Dread usually wins, and it can then run things down.

    And while they can be overwhelmed, there are some VITAL CONDITIONS that must be met: first, you've got to be outnumbered - in the case of a dread, you're looking at 2+ normal squads, minimum. Second, you've got to actually lose the fight, and that requires at least S6 attacks or lucky grenades - both somewhat rare outside of assault specialist squads. Not easily done.

    And just because it really can't be overstated... A WALKER MUST LOSE A ROUND OF COMBAT TO SUFFER THE EXTRA GLANCE FOR BEING OVERWHELMED!!!!!!!!! YOU CAN THROW A MILLION GUARDSMEN AT A DREAD - THEY STILL HAVE TO HURT HIM FIRST!!!
    We've got plenty of youth... How about a fountain of smart?


+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts