Cavalry Base question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    In the grey closet
    Age
    28
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Cavalry Base question

    Question:

    Can you 'base' a miniature, who is supposedly based on a cavalry base (50*25mm), on a 40 mm square base?

    I know that the rules state that you may not base your miniature on a smaller base than the "original", but the base is infact getting bigger in every aspect, except for length.

    If anyone has done any base conversion similar to this, have you had any problems with it in tournaments or other official events?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    PP is my master now... Hasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles (unfortunately)
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,213
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    135 (x4)

    Interesting question. I suppose that technically the terms "bigger" or "smaller" refer to area, rather than a single dimension such as length or width (otherwise the term used would refer to a specific aspect like "wider" or "longer". Comparing the areas, the two bases are almost identical:

    50mm x 25mm base area = 1250 mm^2
    40mm round base area = 1256 mm^2


    So, you will indeed be using a bigger base for them. I'd have no problem with it, myself. Then again, I'm not a tournament organizer, so take that for what it's worth =).

    -H
    Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
    -George Orwell

    www.drmcninja.com
    If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!

  4. #3
    Firefly Skarsgard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Outer Rim
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,209
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    If it's for 40K why not use one of the larger round bases instead of the square?

    I would have no problems if you used either in a friendly or a tournament.
    Mirage Arcana Podcast
    The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.

  5. #4
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Hi,
    This is a “Gordian Knot” sometimes and the only issue that “may” pop up could be the centre to centre distance between models will increase by using 40 mm square bases thus making template weapons a bit les effective.

    But I suppose that getting into base contact with the enemy might be a bit less effective in return so it evens out in the long run.

    But as Hasten said it is within the rules to do this.

    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    In the grey closet
    Age
    28
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks for the replies got my answer.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts