Vague close-combat situation. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Vague close-combat situation.

    Hi guys,
    Me and a friend had a try-out game today with our new armies (Ravenwing and Orks).
    The following close-combat situation occurred, as can be seen in the picture I added:




    The green circles are Ork Stormboys, the darker one being the Nob (haven't got the exact numbers right, but w/e). There are two Landspeeders, a squad of two bikes and a squad of three bikes.
    The Orks have charged the two landspeeders and the squad of two bikes (others were out of range). In the following combat the speeders weren't destroyed, but the bikers were.
    The following question comes up:
    Can the orks consolidate (so they can lock the other bike squad)?

    The rule that is vague about this is at page 71 of the rulebook, under the heading 'results' for vehicles in combat. The rule says that when a unit has been in a close-combat round against a vehicle with no WS characteristic, there can be no sweeping advances or Consolidation moves.

    Can you help us to determine the outcome of this combat?

    Thanks
    Tunus.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    can't see the pic (at work) but you don't get consolidations from combat vs vehicles (ever). However, that said, if you killed the bikes, you would get a d6 massacre move, which could be used to get into btb with the other bikers.

    just remember, vehicles with no WS are never locked, nor can they engage your models. So no winning combat with them, you just get attacks and that's that.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Forgot something:

    The bike squad that was charged was 3-man strong originally. One died as a result of combat. Bikers lost and since Ravenwing is fearless they got wounds for being outnumbered. That's when those last 2 died. So would this give the orcs a massacre move, or just a consolidation (which they might not get because they are also in combat with a vehicle that has no WS)?

    And thanks for the reply
    Last edited by Tunus; February 10th, 2008 at 23:15.

  5. #4
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    If they died from wounds from "no retreat", then it is a simple consolidation. 3".
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  6. #5
    Ender of Threads Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    256 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Tunus View Post
    (which they might not get because they are also in combat with a vehicle that has no WS)?
    Being in combat with a Vehicle that has no WS can be simplified as saying that you're just beating on the side of the tank as it drives past. That's it. You're never locked in combat with it, you're not too busy dueling with it to do other stuff, you've just ran up to it and taken a swing at it.

    The only way that a non-WS vehicle ever complicates a unit's movement is if the vehicle blocks their path and they've got to run around.
    We've got plenty of youth... How about a fountain of smart?


  7. #6
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    The speeders you can ignore, if you were only in combat with the speeders then fine, follow the vehicle rules, but the fac you are in combat with the bikes is where your move comes from, simply use the rules for wiping out a squad (though outnumbering)
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Thanks for solving the problem guys

  9. #8
    Senior Member Seeker84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    341
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    The way I've played this is. The massacre and consolidation rules apply if the enemy is destroyed in CC or FB and/or destroyed from a sweeping advance. Because neither over those came up, you don;t make a consolidation move or massacre move because those results are directly linked to CC and not the wounds created because of being outnumbered.
    Help the kin TAKE your soul, I mean, take your soul...
    I play Vassal. I'm in V40K Open Ladder.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts