2 CC weapons 3 attacks - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    eastern fringe
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    2 CC weapons 3 attacks

    A Dark Eldar Archon has 3 attacks listed on his profile. He is equipped with an Agoniser and a Splinter Pistol. In a melee situation, does he get 2 attacks with the Agoniser and 1 with the pistol? Do you differentiate these attacks by rolling with different dice? Or does he holster the splinter pistol because the shooting phase has finished and just go ballistic with his whip hand, like an old Thundercat toy with an action arm lever?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member stayscrunchyinmilk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    London
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,399
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    370 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by DEfan View Post
    A Dark Eldar Archon has 3 attacks listed on his profile. He is equipped with an Agoniser and a Splinter Pistol. In a melee situation, does he get 2 attacks with the Agoniser and 1 with the pistol? Do you differentiate these attacks by rolling with different dice? Or does he holster the splinter pistol because the shooting phase has finished and just go ballistic with his whip hand, like an old Thundercat toy with an action arm lever?
    In this day & age of ruling you club your opponents to death with pistols - use your strength and +1 attack (if you total 2xC/C wpns. No different dice.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by DEfan View Post
    A Dark Eldar Archon has 3 attacks listed on his profile. He is equipped with an Agoniser and a Splinter Pistol. In a melee situation, does he get 2 attacks with the Agoniser and 1 with the pistol? Do you differentiate these attacks by rolling with different dice? Or does he holster the splinter pistol because the shooting phase has finished and just go ballistic with his whip hand, like an old Thundercat toy with an action arm lever?

    With 3 attacks on his profile and 2 CCW's, you'd have 4 attacks (unless the codex entry states that the bonus attack is included in the profile - sorry, no DE codex on hand)... plus a bonus one if charging. When you attack, you make all of your attacks with a single weapon of your choice. So you could either use all of your attacks with the pistol or all with the Agonizer. You can switch each combat round, too.


    So basically, yeah... Thundercats HOOO!!!!!

  5. #4
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    As moob said, all attacks with one weapon chosen before their init step (say you had a power fist and an init 4 model, you couldn't wait until init 1 to roll your normal attacks, they would all have to be powerfists then). And yes, up to 5 attacks on the charge for a model with base 3 attacks and 2 CC weapons on the charge.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  6. #5
    Dark Eldar Gerbil Splata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    159 (x5)

    In agreeance with the two above me.
    All i have to add is come to the DE page and read why a punisher is argueably better than an agoniser for an archon to wield. Although by all means form your own opinion, we just laid the groundwork.

    oh. and be tortured... yeah thats it... I'm in the spirit of the DE...
    Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
    Dear Game Developer,
    Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
    Signed Scissors.

    WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=149386

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    eastern fringe
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks for that fellas! Now I understand the monster I own a little better. Golly! Powerfists take a bit of time to wind up though, aye?

  8. #7
    Ender of Threads Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    256 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by DEfan View Post
    Thanks for that fellas! Now I understand the monster I own a little better. Golly! Powerfists take a bit of time to wind up though, aye?
    Always good to know the finer points of your own troops... Having your opponent school you on the workings of your own army is always at least a little embarrassing.

    And powerfists?? Yeah, they take plenty of time to get going, but they'll happily pummel you straight into next week once they do!
    We've got plenty of youth... How about a fountain of smart?


  9. #8
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Hi,
    The Archon is bit strange as he is totally unarmed as standard, that is you need to purchase from the Armoury some form of weapon to use his attack profile.

    When you purchase the first close combat weapon you gain access to his attack profile of 3 and since you then went on to buy a second CC weapon the attacks rose to 4, and if you consequently charged it goes to 5.

    The pistol in this case is just an aid to boost your number of attacks done with the primary weapon of the Agoniser and does nothing else in the combat phase (it could be your primary weapon but it's by far the inferior weapon in combat.)

    The pistol is never “holstered” as such and is always available when you have a hand in which to use it – in other words you can’t use the pistol if you hold something with both hands (like a Splinter Rifle) and you can’t even select a pistol if you choose a to have a Punisher (Punisher specific rules here).

    Are you confused yet? No, then visit the Dark Eldar forum where we can proper job on you!
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  10. #9
    Senior Member Firaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Subang Jaya, Malaysia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    wickywacky1, when you mention that purchasing a weapon grants the 3 attacks, does this mean for HQs that have no CC weapons listed they have zero attacks if I didn't buy any? This would mean a SM commander without any purchases has zero attacks then?

    I have always thought that the attacks listed in a profile was based on whatever a model has, be it CC weapon, fist, claw, tooth etc.

  11. #10
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Firaya View Post
    wickywacky1, when you mention that purchasing a weapon grants the 3 attacks, does this mean for HQs that have no CC weapons listed they have zero attacks if I didn't buy any? This would mean a SM commander without any purchases has zero attacks then?

    I have always thought that the attacks listed in a profile was based on whatever a model has, be it CC weapon, fist, claw, tooth etc.
    wicky was a bit misleading in that statement. In short, even if you have no weapons at all, you attack with your normal A profile and strength.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts