Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey guys, I did a quick search, couldn't find anything either here or in the core rulebook about this.
A friend and I were playing a Necron vs. Ork 500 point game. We had several pieces of terrain, and the one that pertains to my question is a three-leveled, partially destroyed structure.
I occupied all three floors of the building with my 21 models. The floors are small enough that I occupied every damn inch of space on the floor.
He eventually charged, which caused an interesting discussion.
Could he get into close combat with me?
There was absolutely no room on the floor for his models, and yet he made a 6 on the difficult terrain test. There was no base contact, as none of his models could fit up there.
We've both been playing for a while, and knew that in Cityfight, specifically, there were probably rules for this, but we were neither playing Cityfight, nor had that rulebook.
Slightly aside, I could use some other help.
Orks get a XXXX-ton of attacks on the charge, which isn't so bad, considering their relatively low strength and hit ratios, but my friend's nobs and warbosses always have power claws. He rolls something like four power claw attacks on a charge with EACH power-claw equipped ork. Is this correct? It's a whole lot of instant-kills, especially with the WS5 warboss.
I know that's a lot to read, but I would really, really appreciate any help I can get.
EDIT 1: Oh cripes, I hit y insted of t in the subject line. Super.
Last edited by Skarsgard; February 13th, 2008 at 01:07. Reason: Swearing removed.
5 attacks actually, for the power claw nobs. Yup, don't get charged by Orks. Best you can do is hope to remove casualties in such a way as to deny him hits, not always easy.
Generally this sort of situation is handled looking top down, without regard to the height of the models in 3 dimensional space. If the orks reached you in 2D and have a high enough move to get to where you would be in 3D, then they're generally considered locked.
The rules for buildings in 40K are kind of funny, in that, there aren't any. By a certain interpretation of the rulebook, you had placed your models illegally. You can't stack models, having bases that occupy the same vertical space isn't really allowed in basic 40K without the Cities of Death expansion.
If you're going to use any piece of terrain with multiple levels, or an interior, or fire ports, or any such thing, you should establish house rules for how it works ahead of time. The official rules for it just aren't there.
We had been thinking along those lines. It's a shame that the rules don't exist unless you're playing CoD. But thanks a lot for the post, it was very helpful.
I'm going to have my work cut out for me when we do a rematch. D: