Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The Deceiver's deceive ability (which forces a morale check or a pinning test, even against fearless units) occurs during the shooting phase. Does this mean that he can't use the ability on one unit when he plans to assault another? Example: in my last game, the Deceiver pinned a Grandmaster (he got really unlucky). The GM then died when other units shot him. Another unit was in assault range, however. Could the D assault that unit, or do all shooting phase skills count as shooting?
The ability is just something that's done in the shooting phase. It doesn't say it replaces shooting, so it doesn't count as a shooting attack against a specific unit. As such, the big D can assault something else.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
This same thread has appeared before, recently. The result was that Yes, he may assault a different unit.
The Deceiver’s “Deceive” ability is not a shooting attack nor is it a psychic power. If it were either then it would be only be allowed to charge the unit that it used the “Deceive” ability on; however, it is a unique ability that specifically outlines the rules which it must follow (I.E. LOS, range, CC, etc.). Since it makes no reference to following all the normal rules for shooting (the way psychic powers do), and it never states that it replaces a shooting attack (even though the Deceiver has no other shooting attack), there is no indication that it must follow any shooting rules that are not specifically mentioned in the codex entry under the Deceiver’s Deceive ability on P.30 of the Necron Codex.
Primary Army: Tyranids; Secondary Army: Space Wolves
It's Illeagle, but it' s not that illeagle. - John Public