Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If I have a Tactical Squad a SGT with Term Honor (Vet SGT). and a decision for shooting priority can the SGT's Leadership be used (+1 Ld)? Squad contains 6 total ( 1SGT + 5 SMs )? If not, I can't see how the +1LD for Term honors, is ever effectively used, unless he's solo.
I've just combed through the 4th ed rulebook. pg 13 mentions "..unit's Leadership" but doesn't state how to determine that. and pg 47 is mostly only Morale type LD checks. Another rule found pg 51. states characters in a squad, their LD is used. But I don't think Sgts. count as characters. I'm unable to find anything specific in the SM Codex.
I've seen a good amount of mentioning that:
(Leadership is always done according to the model with the highest leadership in the squad.)
Can someone point me to where the rule exists? or how its inferred?
Rule confirmed: Any leadership test for a unit uses the highest leadership present within that unit.
Paraphrase: a creature with a high leadership can inspire others to great feats.
I think this certainly implies it.
It is interesting that it doesn't say anywhere(that I can find in my quick browse) directly that the leadership of a unit is equal to the highest leadership of any model within that unit, though I've never seen it disputed.
Subsequent posts will be interesting.
What do you do when it's 5 in the morning, you're exhausted and you only have 3 hours until your alarm clock goes off?
Two types of characters: Upgrade Characters (ie your sergeant or any other squad leader) and then independpant characters.
Pg 51, first heading: Characters as Leaders
"One advantage of a character being part of a unit is that any leadership tests in the unit..."
Space Wolves (Under Construction) | Circle of Orboros (Under Construction)
The rest that you left out on p50 actually explicitly says that the bit on p51 does not apply to sergeants or other upgrade characters.
There isn't a rule anywhere that tells you you can use the Sart's LD. It's just one of those things everyone understands; it's been part of the game since forever. The rulebook never defines the term "Unit's Leadership," so players by default define it as the highest leadership among all members.
I've searched the BGB on this issue pretty extensively, and I never found a solid rule that says you can use the highest leadership in the unit. But as already mentioned, there are plenty of "fluff" references. It seems it has been played this way since time immemorial and apparently there was a specific rule in previous editions...
So many upgrade "leaders" in so many armies would be useless otherwise - the Firewarrior Shas'ui team leader, for example... Often the only reason for taking him and spending the extra 10 points is for that +1 leadership.
Anyway, it's just something that everyone seems to understand and if there is ever a concern it's usually an automatic house rule if not a permanent revision within a gaming group. I am also pretty sure it is done that way in tournaments also.
-Thread Killer Bryan
Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept
As's been said, a "unit's" leadership is never really defined. A unit can use the leadership of an attached Independant character, but when it comes right down to it, it's never made clear at all what a unit's leadership score really is.
That being said, I've never met or heard of anyone who doesn't pretend that each unit has a leadership score equal to the best leadership score of any of its constituent models.
Given that the rule actually doesn't work at all as written (one of the few instances where this is actually the case) it's probably best to play as if it were written a different way.
Once again, the conservative, sandwich-heavy portfolio pays off for the hungry investor!
ThanX guys. Yeah it seemed to be a very *common knowledge* type thing, but I am a brand new player, and was trying to ensure I was playing correctly. I wasn't disputing what I heard just trying to be able to show someone else how and why it works the way it does. Not that I'm a tourney player or anything.
(It's also the case in warhammer that you always use the highest leadership - That would also have a small influence)
A squad leader, after all, wouldn't be much of a leader if his squad couldn't use his leadership .
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone