Multiple Wound, Vulnerable to Blasts, and Instant Death - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    UnderWater Ninja-Tiger .. Xpyre35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    785
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    147 (x3)

    Multiple Wound, Vulnerable to Blasts, and Instant Death

    Situation: A Ripper Swarm Brood, takes a direct hit from a demolisher cannon. 6 models are under the marker. 6 hits are scored, 6 wounds are rolled.

    With Vulnerable to blasts, (pg 13 Tyranid Codex) the wound count doubles to 12. 12 Str 10 wounds on a brood of 10 ripper swarms (30 wounds) would be 12 wounds each causing instant death (pg. 27 4th Rulebook) does the entire brood perish?

    Last edited by Xpyre35; March 4th, 2008 at 19:39.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    497
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Xpyre35 View Post
    Situation: A Ripper Swarm Brood, takes a direct hit from a demolisher cannon. 6 models are under the marker. 6 hits are scored, 6 wounds are rolled.

    With Vulnerable to blasts, (pg 13 Tyranid Codex) the wound count doubles to 12. 12 Str 10 wounds on a brood of 10 ripper swarms (30 wounds) would be 12 wounds each causing instant death (pg. 27 4th Rulebook) does the entire brood perish?
    Accroding to page 30 of the little book, casualties can come from models not under the blast marker (the anti-sniping clause)... so I'd be inclined to say with the way those special rules integrate that is a yes to mass 'Nid death...

    I need to read a bit more though and I can't at the moment. I thought there was some rule limiting you to only as many kills as you had under the marker but I can't find it, and I might just be crazy. Well, I AM crazy, it just might be effecting me moreso here then normal.

    Hopefully someone else with the big book and/or FAQs handy can do a better check for you.
    -
    Making Sisters of Battle into Women of Battle
    -
    Give a Rep Star if you like what someone said. Especially Me. I'm an unabashed Star whore. Blame my 2nd grade teacher and those stupid good behavior stickers. I'm just conditioned. I'm the Pavlov's Dog of stars.
    -
    You win with VP, NOT with kills
    -

  4. #3
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    Yes, the main rulebook FAQ clarifies that you double wounds *before* adjudicating Instant Death. Each wound inflicted by a blast/template that has S double the victim's T will kill two entire bases.

    (Of course, assuming the other 4 bases are eligible casualties based on range/LOS etc)

  5. #4
    UnderWater Ninja-Tiger .. Xpyre35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    785
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    147 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by InquisitorAffe View Post
    Yes, the main rulebook FAQ clarifies that you double wounds *before* adjudicating Instant Death. Each wound inflicted by a blast/template that has S double the victim's T will kill two entire bases.

    (Of course, assuming the other 4 bases are eligible casualties based on range/LOS etc)

    My friend, many thanX to you. I didn't realize or think to check the main rule book faq, and it precisely answers my question( as you have by paraphrasing it). I now have it, along with several other FAQs from the GW site. rep to you.

  6. #5
    Member Slares's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Graham, Washington
    Age
    28
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Just a quick question if i wound a ripper base with a lascannon does it eliminate the whole base or just cause a wound?
    Change is good

  7. #6
    PP is my master now... Hasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles (unfortunately)
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,213
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    135 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Slares View Post
    Just a quick question if i wound a ripper base with a lascannon does it eliminate the whole base or just cause a wound?
    I'll refer you to the section on Instant Death in the main rulebook (don't have a page ref, but check the shooting section). It's perfectly clear so long as you realize that each "swarm base" is one model with a given toughness and multiple wounds.

    -H
    Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
    -George Orwell

    www.drmcninja.com
    If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!

  8. #7
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Yeah, prior to the BGB faq, swarms were actually useful. Now they are total, and complete crap. You'll also note that because of the double hits, then check results, it also means that you can kill 2 vehicles that are in a squad with a single blast hit, namely vypers.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts