Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello, in my always self-doubtful mood I was just curious to see if I've got this rule wrong. But when a enemy unit or one of your own is choosing to fire on a unit that is 2-3 units back in the enemy army would just one LD test need to be made or multiple?
The rule on page 19 of the BGB says "pass a Leadership test ... if you want a unit to target any enemy unit other than the closest."
- "a" is singular.
- "any" means any, not the next closest.
Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007
Just to clarify; it is not always "any" target, there are still LoS restrictions you have to obey, but usually only when it comes to size. Some examples...
Friendly unit -------- Enemy Unit ---- Enemy Unit
You can choose to fire on either enemy Unit if within range.
Friendly unit ----- Enemy Unit --- Enemy Tank
You can fire on either the Unit or the Tank if within range.
Friendly unit ----- Enemy Tank ---- Enemy Unit
You cannot fire upon the enemy Unit past the tank UNLESS you can visibly trace a line without the tank obstructing it.
Friendly unit ---- Enemy Tank ---- Enemy Tank
You cannot fire on the farther tank unless you can trace a line as above.
So basically, ANY unit applies to only similar size units or those that don't truley block LoS. Pg 20 is a great place to start when trying to figure that out.
You can't reason someone out of a position they didn't reason themselves into.